Wifi shows as connected but does not work

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Cscottrun, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Cscottrun macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #1
    Hi all. Running 9.2.1. I have 5 bars of wifi showing, but my phone does not load anything. My family all have iPhones, and they have no issues with the same wifi connection. My ipad also has no issues. The moment I disconnect the wifi on my phone, LTE takes over and renders either the page im trying to load or the app that requires the connection without any problems. I've reset my network settings and this did not solve the problem. My next step will be a full restore. Does anyone have any other suggestions?
     
  2. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #2
    If you have keychains enabled on all your devices (under same AppleID), turn it off on your iPhone. Then delete that network in the WiFi settings. Do a restart and reconnect. Is it possible your router can't handle many connections at once?
     
  3. Userx12 macrumors newbie

    Userx12

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    #3
    Hi,
    I'm having the same issue. Did you find a solution??
    (i don't use keychain so wouldn't be able to try that solution.)
    thx
     
  4. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #4
    I've have this problem I recently mentioned in another thread. I've been through every possible troubleshooting imaginable

    Resetting network settings works UNTIL the phone is synced again. Syncing totally messes with email fetching, wifi range and connectivity and other basic network tasks. Unfortunately yet another recent issue that apples software team have no excuse to not be on top of.

    Try resetting the network settings and avoiding syncing the phone (including turning off wifi syncing if you have that on). Give that a go for at least a week and see if it works. I now have to avoid syncing my phone. If I do, it is ALWAYS followed by a reset of the network settings. I've had to do this ever since the first version of ios9
     
  5. soundslikeaudio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    #5
    Check in the settings app and see if the VPN settings are showing up right below cellular, even if not go to general and look for VPN's or Profiles. 9.3 seems to be reenabling old VPN configs and profiles, and if those are no longer accurate you don't have a way to route Internet traffic. Correct or delete as needed. Hope that helps.
     
  6. Userx12 macrumors newbie

    Userx12

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    #6
    Thx both of you.

    1. resetting network settings doesn't help at all actually... syncing or not.

    2. Still on 9.2.1, not 9.3. But thanks for that tip.
     
  7. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Restart your router. I'm aware it works on other devices. Do it anyway.
     
  8. qap macrumors 6502

    qap

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Udine, Italy
    #8
    Maybe because something on your iPhone config is wrong, I mean, you can be connected to a router but if you set the wrong ip on your iPhone or the router doens't release the DHCP, you can't navigate.
     
  9. PaladinGuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #9
    I had this issue until I reset my network settings. Haven't had any issues since then. I'd never had this issue in the past until iOS 9.3.1. In fairness, wifi is usually a pretty annoying thing. Hard to know why certain things behave certain ways. My AirPort Extreme has been the most consistent of any router I've ever had. My provider is usually the culprit or the modem.
     
  10. PaladinGuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #10
    Ok. So, now after updating to 9.3.2 beta, I just had this happen again. It tries to say that there's no internet connection, which is wrong. I had to turn off Wifi and then turn it back on to correct the issue.

    This is the first bug that's actually annoying to me!
     
  11. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #11
    I use to with 9.2.1 have to either

    Turn off wifi and use cellular, then go back to wifi

    Or close all apps and that fixed it. Hasn't happened (yet, knock on wood), with 9.3
     
  12. Galacticos, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016

    Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #12
    Any tips on how to make sure this isn't the case?
    I've had this issue come up again on 9.3.1
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2016 ---
    This is a workaround not a solution
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2016 ---
    Reconnect to wifi and then enable keychains or enable keychains first and then connect to wifi?

    I highly doubt my router can't handle multiple connections but any tips on checking this might supplement my current regime :/
    Edit- it definitely can
     
  13. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #13
    Go to Settings >WiFi >Your SSID. Check everything there. Is Address and subnet correct for your network? Are any other devices using the same address? Is the DNS address correct? You could eliminate a conflict with other devices by turning off everything else using your WiFi and see if the phone works.
     
  14. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #14
    Thanks a lot for that!
    Address and subnet are fine. In ip xxx.xxx.x.y, y doesn't mean anything significant does it?
    Checked on router and no other devices are using the address.my phone is listed last in the 'attached devices' in my router, not sure if that's significant?
    Dns is correct
    I have three less devices on network than usual and no difference with my other devices, but same problem with my iPhone. Any extra help much appreciated!
     
  15. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #15
    Yes, y should be unique for each device. Just for grins you could renew lease to make sure your phone is talking to the router but it sounds like it is.
     
  16. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #16
    Sorry I didn't mention whether they were unique, they are.
    I tend to have sporadic success with resetting network settings, but the internet hanging when I'm 3m away from the router is pretty persistent.
    At my folks place this isn't an issue, but my (netgear d6200) router is a lot newer than theirs (linksys something). Mine has two bandwidths theirs doesn't. Don't think there's any other factors.

    A bit of a side thing that I find annoying is when you have iCloud keychain on you can't have two devices on different networks (different bandwidths). At the moment everything has to be on the 5ghz network. Not sure if that's a factor but it's annoying not being able to choose for each device.
     
  17. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #17
    At 3m away, is the signal so strong that you have a distortion issue? I use keychain and have devices split across bands and switch them around. The other day I noticed my phone had switched to the 5GHz network for some reason and switched it back to 2.4GHz because of my AW which can't do 5GHz. My MBP stays on 5GHz and my IPA2 stays on 2.4GHz.
     
  18. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #18
    Don't think so, if I move a little closer it 'wakes up' and works. If I leave the network and walk back in, I need to walk within 3-4m to wake it up. Not always but not occasionally either.

    If I change my iPhone to lower bandwidth, my computer and my iPad change too..
     
  19. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #19
    I can come home and my phone will connect to WiFi when I get out of the car. I don't understand why changing bands on your phone causes the computer and iPad to change band also. That is strange.
     
  20. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #20
    I have just changed to 2.4ghz and I walked 30m from my house and was still getting wifi.. That does not happen on the 5ghz band! If my phone can stay on 2.4 and my other stuff stay on 5, there may not be a problem (although I still wonder why my phone can't handle 5ghz).
    Didn't have this problem before iOS 9, had it ever since
     
  21. qap macrumors 6502

    qap

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Udine, Italy
    #21
    Try to setup all manually, ip, dns, domain, ecc... And see if your iPhone will be disconnected again. Is the simply solution.

    I'm using all manual setting and I have no problem on my home network, instead on other networks, when I set up dhcp and auto, the iPhone seems to be connected but I can't navigate. Maybe because for wrong dhcp or because the router hasn't release the correct ip...who know :)
     
  22. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #22
    So my iPad has swapped over to the network I selected on my phone. So annoying.

    If anyone knows how to have some devices on one wifi bandwidth, and others on another, while all of them share the same iCloud Keychain, I would really appreciate knowing!!
     
  23. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #23
    2.4 has a greater range due to the frequency band. 5g has less range and less wall penetration. Has nothing to do with devices or routers.
     
  24. Galacticos macrumors 6502a

    Galacticos

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #24
    Yeah. My iPad and computer have full wifi and full functionality extending outside my home. My phone shows full wifi but the internet just hangs unless I'm just about next to it
     

Share This Page