Wifi Sync: Does it Sync App Updates?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Mac In School, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. Mac In School macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #1
    I finally decided to cut the cord and test the wifi syncing with my 4S and iPad 2. After setting it up I ran a little test:

    1. I set up wireless syncing with both devices. Works fine.

    2. Some of my apps weren't up-to-date, so I update them all on the Mac.

    3. Then I plugged the iOS devices into the wall charger. Sync complete.

    4. I went into app updates on the iOS devices, and it still showed 5-6 apps weren't up-to-date. So it synced, but didn't update the apps like it would have with a traditional sync.

    Am I doing something wrong, or is it not supposed to work that way?

    Does it work the other way? (I manually updated all of them so I can't test right now)

    Thanks.
     
  2. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #2
    It should do. Wi-Fi sync should work the same as a wired sync. My apps on my iPhone and iPad synced over correctly after I updated them in iTunes on my Mini.
     
  3. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    Open iTunes.

    When you see your iPad/iPhone click on the Apps part at the top.

    Under the list of apps make sure "Automatically sync new apps" is selected.

    You only have to do this once. The initial time. Afterwards they will auto sync.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    As long as the apps are up to date on your mac they will sync to the current version on your phone at night.
     
  5. Mac In School thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #5
    Ew. I hope this isn't true. We have 4 iOS devices in the house and none of us want to have all the same apps.

    I don't want new apps to come over. Just updates.

    Can anyone confirm that they're able to get updates without enabling the "Automatically sync new apps" option?
     
  6. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #6
    NVM. I thought you were talking about just one device and syncing new apps.

    My Bad.
     
  7. Mac In School thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
  8. Since OS-6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia ( it's a State )
    #8
    Hope this is of help, but on each device, under SETTINGS >STORE

    you can select what gets automatically sent to your phone / iPad

    Music, Apps, or Books. And weather it is only via Wi-Fi ( or cellular too ).

    steve
     
  9. mattburles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #9
    if you have automatic downloads for apps turned on in iTunes and you go and update an app does it automatically update it on all your devices without having to sync? or is this not possible?
     
  10. GraphicsGeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #10
    Since you don't have the option to sync new apps selected, they won't update automatically. It's probably best that you don't have it set up tht way since you have so many iOS devices on (what seems like) one iTunes account.
     
  11. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #11
    Yes, that is correct. You also can sync manually anytime you want with or without power connected.
     
  12. pdxa4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #12
    A somewhat separate question, but does iTunes need to be running for wifi sync to happen...I typically have the app closed unless I'm using it...

    I'm running 10.6.8 on my 8.1 iMac, and successfully setup wifi sync on my iphone and ipad...
     
  13. Mac In School thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #13
    I think I figured out what's going on. Or, rather, what's not going on.

    When I plug my iOS device into power it doesn't automatically sync. I get the spinning icon for a few seconds, indicating they're shaking hands, but it doesn't actually sync unless I click the sync button in iTunes.

    It's supposed to automatically sync, right?

    Do I need to check the "automatically launch iTunes when this whatever is connected" to make it work, maybe? I'd rather not enable this unless I have to.
     
  14. steve knight Suspended

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #14
    nope I wish it did it's kind of silly really.
     
  15. Mac In School thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #15
    Wow. Agreed. It even uses the word "automatically" in the iOS setting.

    Cutting the cable isn't that much of an efficiency saving if I have to go to the computer anyway. Might as well plug it in. Especially if I have to be there for both devices.

    Thanks for the info.
     

Share This Page