WiFi - the cloud to Bt openzone - NOPE!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mistere, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. mistere macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #1
    Has anyone out there managed to connect to their BT Openzone account through a 'cloud' provider?

    I can get my touch to connect successfully to:-

    My home WiFi
    My BT Fon enabled home hub
    BT Openzone run zones (i.e. cafe Nero)
    Independent WiFi zones (Costa Coffee)

    I've tried 3 separate Cloud networks (McDonalds, 2 pubs), each time I can get as far as the Cloud roaming 'launch page', then when I select 'Account with another service provider' I'm taken to a page where you select your provider, in my case BT Openzone (I have bundled unlimited minutes with my home hub) .... Safari then attempts to goto www.btopenzone.com:8443/wpb .... after thinking about this for a while Safari gives up with the error message 'too many redirects occured'! .... rubbish! I've tried changing DNS settings to that of openzone directly, but no joy.
    Is this a Cloud, Openzone or Safari issue?
     
  2. iRondo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    If you're at MacDonalds, you can use their hotspot for free - just select the free option.
    Other than that I can't really answer your question. I signed up for The Cloud's iPod Touch plan and could not connect anywhere.
     
  3. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #3
    You might want to clear the cache etc of the browser, and then turn the wifi off, then on - it might pick it up and go to the right page - have you already signed up?
    If not, then take it to an O2 store as they would have a cloud wifi you dcould use, and then could help you set it up. I know the problem, but i can't for the life of me remember exactly what it did to get it to work. (I got the redirect problem).
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    I always click on the big mcdonalds logo on the page it asks a couple deatils (I guess for a survey of whos connectin) then I'm connected
     
  5. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #5
    I have to say that the BT Openzones have all worked seamlessly for me… BUT The Cloud — while it is a nice idea — just doesn't seem to be cutting it.

    Last year when I got my iPhone I managed to get connected after some help from TheCloud people… but lately it has been pretty dire.

    I don't know if the Hotspots just aren't maintained, but they seem to be out of order or unavailable more often than not.

    Edit: I have never been succesful in any pub Hotspot… I think they just don't work. Period. :D
     

Share This Page