Wifi Toggle in control center

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by vmachiel, Jun 25, 2017.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    Hi,

    If I understand correctly, the toggle doesn't turn wifi off anymore but simply disconnects you. Can you force touch or something to get it to turn off, or do you have to go back to settings from now on.
     
  2. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #3
    That thread doesn't really address the OP's question.

    OP, I'm only running the beta on an iPad Air 2, but when doing a long press to bring up the "advanced" menu, it does not turn off WiFi as a whole, only disconnects. Don't like this change at all.
     
  3. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #4
    Incredibly stupid change in my opinion, but maybe I'm missing something?

    I wonder if it has anything to do with wireless charging (iphone 8) or is that a different technology altogether?
    I'm assuming it uses a different technology.
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #5
    I'm sure its different. Cause why wouldn't that change only apply to the 8? I really hate the fact that I have to use AP mode to kill WiFi now. Meaning I have to turn on BT again. Very stupid change.
     
  5. adrianlondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    Airplane mode doesn't turn off (or disconnect) WiFi.
     
  6. zemaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #7
    I can see them changing it back to the way it always worked by the time iOS 11 final is released.
     
  7. KeanosMagicHat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #8
    It would if he/she asked the question on the thread - which is the same broad topic overall.

    :)
    --- Post Merged, Jun 25, 2017 ---
    Hopefully there will be enough feedback to make it so.
     
  8. inkahauts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    #9
    Seriously? That's new too and stupid...
     
  9. iFanaddic macrumors 6502a

    iFanaddic

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #10
    Once it disconnected the network what prevents it from reconnecting afterwards?

    Is it a time delay? Location based?
     
  10. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #11
    Surely that must be a bug because otherwise what is the point of Airplane mode?
     
  11. adrianlondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #12
    Many planes have wifi, and some (most?) allow you to use bluetooth headphones. Airplane mode turns off the mobile signal only as, theoretically, that's the only one broadcasting at max power continuously trying to connect to something.
     
  12. Mlrollin91, Jun 26, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017

    Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #13
    Thats now true.

    That is not correct. Airplane Mode completely disables Cellular, WiFi and Bluetooth. You can then choose which one you want to turn back on (but cellular). This is even verifiable with iOS 11 because it shows slashes through the service that is now completely off.

    AP mode on: Services with slashes are turned off.
    IMG_0030.PNG

    AP mode off: Services disconnected but not off, because of no slash.
    IMG_0031.PNG

    AP mode on: BT has slash because its still turned off, WiFi is blue as its connected.
    IMG_0032.PNG

    Lastly, AP mode off: Services are shown as on and connect.
    IMG_0033.PNG

    AP mode on: Services are shown as turned off.
    IMG_0034.PNG
     
  13. HallStevenson macrumors 6502

    HallStevenson

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #14
    So on an iPad or iPod, one's device could be stolen and even if the screen is locked, the thief can swipe-up to access Control Center and disable WiFi. Now how will "Find My iPhone" work ? If it's an iPhone, pull the SIM and you have the same issue.
     

Share This Page