WiFi Update Not Working

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by pchipchip, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. pchipchip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #1
    So if I plug my iPod Touch into my computer it says that there is an update available, but if I try and update it without the computer it says "iOS 5.0 Your software is up to date." but there is iOS 5.0.1 out now. So do I have to do it on the computer? Does anyone else have this problem?
     
  2. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    The OTA update has now shown up for me. If you keep trying, it'll eventually show up for you, too.
     
  3. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #3
    The OTA has just showed up for me. However I'm at work and need to be on wifi to do this. I will when I get home later.
     
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
    I just updated my iPhone 4S and iPad 2 over the air and they both worked fine and without a hitch.
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Give OTA the time. It will take time for servers to populate around the world.

    OTA just appeared in the UK.
     
  6. Jeflies macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #6
    I had to power off my 4S and then turn back on for the update to show up.
     
  7. pchipchip thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #7
    I think I am going to try that
     
  8. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #8
    What makes you think you need to be on Wi-Fi? I ask because the OTA updates for the iOS 5 betas didn't require Wi-Fi (I downloaded at least one over 3G).

    Unfortunately, I can't answer my own question by testing as I'm on Wi-Fi at work and just downloaded the iOS 5.0.1 update OTA but I'd be surprised if Apple restricted the update to Wi-Fi only.
     
  9. bowlerman625, Nov 10, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011

    bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #9
    Because that was the message that was at the bottom of the screen when I attempted to update over 3G! It told me it needs a WiFi connection to update.

    Just double checked this a second time to be sure......yep, it wants WiFi!!
     
  10. bige12 macrumors 6502

    bige12

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    Vienna, VA
    #10
    To activate over the air updates you need to sync you iPhone first then you will be able to see the update on your iPhone , Go to settings, General, than software update. I'm in the United states and it just showed up on my phone
     
  11. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #11
    Damn, well that's a shame, I guess.
     
  12. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #12
    Yes, I agree!
     
  13. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #13
    Incorrect. You don't need to sync anything to "activate" OTA updates.

    Correct.
     
  14. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #14
    Approximately how long does the OTA update take for each device?
     
  15. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #15
    I didn't time them but the whole process took around 5-6 minutes.

    ----------

    You don't need to sync the iOS device first for the update to show up.
     

Share This Page