wifi updates A++++++ steve

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by frunkis54, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #1
    Wow enabled snyc over wifi and this incredible i didn't even think about it working both ways. im not pluged into itunes and it is showing in devices and you can press sync in itunes as well as on the iphone.:D
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Yeah, but Wi-Fi syncing is still really buggy right now
     
  3. iammike1 macrumors 6502a

    iammike1

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Columbia MD
    #3
    How so? Haven't seen anything weird YET but if I'm risking jacking up any data, I'll turn it off and go to wired only until Beta 3 maybe.
     
  4. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #4
    Would've been even better if they implemented the Wi-Fi Direct technology so Wi-Fi syncing would work without even needing a router.
     
  5. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I just wish they'd work without being plugged in.
     
  6. smoge macrumors regular

    smoge

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
  7. EDH667 macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    It does work without the iPhone being plugged in! Either hit Sync on the iPhone or iTunes. When you plug the iPhone into a power source, it automatically syncs!
     
  8. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    Yea it still has to be plugged into power source.
     
  9. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #9
    You can sync anytime over WiFi from iOS 5, but when you plug the phone into the mains it syncs automatically.
     
  10. Vundu macrumors 65816

    Vundu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    Exactly you can do a manual wireless sync with no power plugged in.
     
  11. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    Yes I got clarification now. Wireless sync would be pointless if it still had to be plugged in to do.
     
  12. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #12
    Yup, and remember how Apple worded it post-WWDC:

    "iOS 5 treats every power socket in your home like a USB port".

    What happens when you plug into a USB on the computer? It charges and automatically syncs. Same applies to a power outlet.

    People are getting into a right state and not grasping that you can go into settings and simply press the Sync button to wirelessly sync anytime without a cable.
     
  13. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #13
    Can they make it so my iPhone doesn't drop wifi everytime it goes into standby....I hate that...
     

Share This Page