Wifi with Password Protected Networks?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ribbonthecat, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. ribbonthecat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    When one accesses the Wifi at my University, one goes automatically first to a page where one enters in one's username and password, before one can access the internet. Will the iPod Touch work with this system?
     
  2. dagored macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Yes. Did the same setup on a RCL cruise 2 weeks ago. Wifi was available, but you had to set up a password with your cabin number (so they could bill you) on a web login page. Worked great and once logged in I could just use mail, youtube, weather and Maps without a problem.
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    The iPod Touch works fine on Warwick's network which is setup like this.
     
  4. Stang68 macrumors 6502a

    Stang68

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Just make sure the wifi isnt 802.1x or else it wont work, even if you have a login and password.
     
  5. Orng macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #5
    May I jump in on this topic late?

    I finally have a business case for an iPod Touch. Have to do a shoot on a cruise ship, will only need email and full web, can't take a full laptop, can't buy an iPhone in Canada, can't justify a MacBook Air.

    So my question is this, the cruise company's website (celebrity.com) specifically says their wi-fi will not work with Safari. I assume this is related to a web-based login page.

    Has anyone had any luck using iPhone or iPod Touch on cruise ships, or otherwise encountered issues with the Safari browser on Wi-Fi login pages anywhere?

    I'm sort of assuming that this specification is based on Safari 2.0, but I could be mistaken.
     
  6. dagored macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    I can answer that. This past October, I took one of my many RCI cruises. I took the Touch. It was one week old.

    I was told, "A Mac will not work on our wireless system". Now, I was, before I retired, a network administrator for a school district. I politely asked for their info on logging into the network. Wifi is wifi.

    I had to log in on one of their desktops and create an account with a password. This could not be done on the Touch. Gee, that same web page came right up on Safari. I checked my email and got on line for a week. It cost me $35 for 90 minutes and it was worth it.

    Their wireless was slow, but not bad for mail. The weather and stock apps also worked, once I was logged in.

    However, they kept telling anyone with a Mac, IT WON'T WORK. Boy were they losing money.
     
  7. Orng macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #7
    Thank you!

    I thought that was the case, but I appreciate someone with specific experience speaking up on the matter.

    While the computer-savvy part of me was fairly confident, the overly-cautious side of me wanted answers before laying down company money.

    Thank you very much! :)
     
  8. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    I don't find the new maps app very useful as most of the time while driving I don't pick up unprotected wifi networks. Maybe this isn't how maps was intended to be used. I don't see it as a replacement for a gps.
     
  9. Orng macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #9
    In case anyone is looking for this info, the iPod touch Safari browser worked very intermittently with the ship's Wifi (Celebrity), and certainly not regularly enough to justify the cost of the using the ship's WiFi. Go on the pay-per-minute plan until you're sure, don't pay for a block of time like I did! 60 cents a minute isn't too hard to swallow when you only get a total of ten minutes over the whole trip.

    I registered a complaint about browser compatibility so I'm sure they'll get right on that.

    It wasn't a total failure, though. WiFi signals have a surprisingly long reach over water, and I was able to send and receive emails using open Wifi networks on nearby islands with towns. Seriously. I'm still not sure how I pulled it off. But if you're ever on a cruise ship, when you start getting close to a port of call, pull out the iPhone or Touch and watch how far out you are when the WiFi signals start registering. I was impressed.

    I agree, I've only once used the "Locate me" feature successfully when I wasn't on a known WiFi network. Problem is, when I'm on a known WiFi network, I already know where I am!

    Just for fun I tried the Locate Me feature on the pier in Nassau, and it amazingly located me on a similarly-oriented pier, but in some place called (I think) Sag Harbour NY.
     
  10. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #10
    steve jobs explained at one of the keynotes (either mwsf 07 or september 07)
     
  11. the skunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #11
    I'm trying to connect to the wifi at my university. It lets me put in username and password but then only lets me log onto things like university email and not google for example. I've heard that other people have the wifi working on their itouch on campus.

    Any suggestions???

    Thanks Skunk
     
  12. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #12
    Yes. Many hotspots (at airports, etc.) are like this and work perfectly.
     

Share This Page