Will 15" SSD size increase above 768?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GanleyBurger, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. GanleyBurger, Jun 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013

    GanleyBurger macrumors regular

    GanleyBurger

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #1
    will 15" ssd "SIZE" increase above 768 with updates ?????

    (Whenever that is now, uuurrrgggghhhh!!!)
     
  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    Highly doubt it.
    Considering 1TB SSD/Flash is still extremely expensive (over 1000USD), it wont for a while.
    My guess is in next 2~3 years it will be available.
     
  3. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #3
    What about the Crucial M500?

    You very well may be right, but I don't think it'll be that long. Seems to be moving quicker considering a 600$ 1tb exists. Maybe 1 year away I'd say
     
  4. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #4
    I am pretty sure Apple still uses the 64bGbit chips. If they used the 128Gbit ones that are in the Samsung 840 and exist also in non TLC version already they could double the capacity by just switching out chips.
    I think a 1TB option is almost a certainty.

    1TB are really expensive because the highest capacity SSDs always have been proportionately ridiculously expensive. With 128Gbit chips out in force I don't see anything stopping them from going for 1TB. They will probably not go for 1.5TB (2x 768) but rather use the space savings.
     
  5. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Since rMBP uses a flash chip it might be a bit expensive.
     
  6. Kushp14 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
  7. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #7
    It would probably be too small a seller for the moment, but it would be nice to see capacities increasing...
     
  8. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #8
    Apple is using proprietary PCIe SSD's in the Airs and presumably would do so in the MBP's. I wouldn't be surprised to see a 1TB SSD as a BTO option in the next MBP update, especially if it isn't until October.
     

Share This Page