Will 1GB of RAM be a problem with 64bits? [iPhone 5S]

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Populus, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. Populus macrumors 6502

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #1
    Ok, so lets talk about iPhone 5S and its future life in the next 2-3 years.

    iPhone 5S has only 1GB of RAM. Same as iPhone 5. But it turns out that, as far as I read, 64bit systems (hardware+software) tend to occupy, to utilize, more memory than 32bit environments.

    I actually have seen this on my MacBook Pro: with the transition to 64bits (especially with Lion, the first truly 64bit OS) I saw how apps like Safary, Chrome etc needed more and more RAM. I upgraded from 4 to 8GB.

    Problem is, I won't be able to upgrade iPhone's RAM.

    So, I wanted to purchase new iPhone 5S in order to have smartphone for the next 4-5 years (from an iphone 4). But this issue is pushing me back, so come on! Convince me :p

    I'll hear your advices about what to do. (That's why I created the thread on the Tips and Advices Subforum)
     
  2. johng1970 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #2
    Hmm, I bet you feel silly knowing my iPhone 4S is running IOS 7 with no problems. Heck, right now most apps probably did the bare minimum to be called IOS 7 compatible.
     
  3. Populus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #3
    No, I don't feel silly because I've tried iOS 7 on an iPhone 4S (mine is a 4) and I know it runs seamlessly. But I'm talking about, as the own Apple says, Forward Looking.

    In 2 years, for instance, the 64bit apps may require greater amounts of RAM, like happened on OSX (I often use almost all of those 8GB if I don't reboot my MacBook Pro). I expect iPhone 6 to have at least 2GB of RAM, enough for having 4-6 apps in the background, stored on the RAM memory.

    The lack of RAM affects to the number of apps that will re-start when changing between them on the multitasking menu, as well as the preview of those (if I'm not correct, please tell me).

    I do a lot of multitasking, that's why I'd appreciate more RAM.

    In the other hand... ¿Do you think Apple will change aspect ratio of the iPhone 6 screen? ¿Will just be the same size, or bigger? The aspect ratio is an issue that concerns to me, as the compatibility the apps have with the 5S may change...

    I'll be pleased to hear your opinions, Forward Thinking.

    And to the mods, if you think this thread should be at another subforum, move it please ;)
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    I've noticed that my iPhone 5S has roughly 125MB less of free RAM available after startup compared to my iPhone 5. I still have well over 300 available so its not that it is slowing my down, but it seems like there are more processes running in the background even after a cold boot.
     
  5. Makaveliarts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5
    Side note, the 5s has DDR3 RAM unlike any other iPhone Model.
     
  6. Populus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #6
    Thank you so much for your info, dude.

    BTW, you have 300MB of free RAM, but how many apps do you have opened on the background?
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    Zero. This is directly after a cold boot with everything completely closed. At times on my iPhone 5 I would have over 600MB free after a cold boot. The most I have seen on my iPhone 5S is 500MB free but it drops quickly and stays around 325-375MB free. Still enough, but just my overall observation.
     
  8. Populus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #8
    :eek:

    Didn't know the iPhone had so little memory RAM for the apps.
    Again, your info is very appreciated, so thank you :)

    I cannot stop thinking the iPhone 5S should have come with 2GB of RAM...
     
  9. inselstudent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #9
    But that wouldn't be Apple then. They proudly say they don't take part in the spec wars, and honestly, they're right about it. As long as it still works, Apple doesn't include more expensive components.
     
  10. c0LdFire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #10
    iOS is very efficient. While including 2GB of RAM would've made the 5S far more future proof, I don't see it as becoming a major problem until we are ready to upgrade again anyway.
     

Share This Page