Will 2.2 lock my unlocked 2.1?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by steveca, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. steveca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #1
    to keep matters simple...

    I have an unlocked 2.1 iPhone. I updated from 2.0 to 2.1 using iTunes without any problem. Can I do the same to update from 2.1 to 2.2 or not?

    Thanks a lot
     
  2. sergiuria macrumors 6502a

    sergiuria

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Near a bunch of T-Rex
    #2
    Yes, you can, but if you have any jailbroken apps, you will lose them
     
  3. M. Malone macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #3
    it's safe to upgrade if all you want to keep is the unlock. As mentioned, you will lose the jailbreak.
     
  4. steveca thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #4
    updating now... will confirm so other people can do it without worries :)
    ...fingers crossed
     
  5. qwikrex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #5
    I'm reading on a couple of sites that itunes won't recognize your iphone after the update if you don't have an at&t sim card installed. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  6. ucbearcats macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #6
    That is correct...I just tried it with a non ATT SIM
     
  7. steveca thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #7
    will confirm pretty soon...
     
  8. steveca thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #8
    not in my case.

    I am in Malta using Vodafone and when I put my iphone back on the cradle, iTunes recognises it immediately...
     
  9. M. Malone macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #9
    Indeed, same here, works well without ATT SIM, no issues.
     
  10. qwikrex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #10
    Anyone running a pwnagetool unlocked iphone, using tmobile, try to update yet? Are you guys doing an upgrade or a shift-restore?
     
  11. ucbearcats macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #11
    Because you can get an iPhone through Vodafone in like 10 countries so it is a recognized SIM card
     
  12. qwikrex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #12
    I have an at&t sim lying around but it's not active. Would the update work if it was in there?
     
  13. ucbearcats macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #13
    Not positive but I would imagine it would. Let us know
     
  14. steveca thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #14
    wouldnt be so sure... My vodafone sim should actually not be recognised at all becasue it was never enabled by vodafone for use on an iphone in Malta (or anywhere) moreover i got the iphone before it was available here...

    Not sure why some people have problems with SIM card and cant help :confused:
     
  15. ucbearcats macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #15
    Likely because it looks at the provider of the SIM. Doubt it has anything to do with it being enabled on the iPhone
     

Share This Page