Will 3 GB ram work with unibody?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by catgo, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. catgo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #1
    My brother has an extra stick of 2gb ddr3 204 pin of ram. Would it be useful to add it to my 2.4 Unibody MB which currently has 2gb. I need it mostly to run vmware fusion since right now every time I run it I get tons of page outs.

    Thanks
     
  2. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #2
    dont you mean 4gb. 2+2=4 maybe im reading what you worte wrong but i dont think so.

    i've said it before, you can never have to much RAM
     
  3. catgo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #3
    Well as I mentioned, my brother has an extra 2gb stick that would work with my MB, since the macbook has 2 1gb sticks, I would end up with 3GB when I replaced one of the 1gb sticks for the extra 2gb stick, will they work though?
     
  4. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #4
    ah i see. yes it would work but you would lose dual channel.
     
  5. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #5
    Yes, you can load 3GB of DDR3 RAM into a unibody macbook, you just won't have the "benefit" of dual-channel RAM since they aren't a matched pair; but many benchmarks suggest that the effect of more RAM is greater than the effect of dual-channel with less RAM.

    I'd wager you'll never notice the loss of dual channel day-to-day, but will see the increased RAM as a performance boost.
     
  6. catgo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #6
    Great news, I hope I don't have any more page outs with the 3GB and VMware fusion.

    Thanks guys!
     
  7. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #7
    yea man good luck. oh ppl say it doesnt matter but i have read posts that say when upgrading RAM put the larger of the two sticks on the outside.
     

Share This Page