will 4 sticks of this ram work??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CSHawkeye81, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. CSHawkeye81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Arlington VA
  2. Adam0306 macrumors regular

    Adam0306

    #2
    Which computer? Is it the Mac Pro is the sig?
     
  3. CSHawkeye81 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #3
    Correct.
     
  4. Adam0306 macrumors regular

    Adam0306

    #4
    If I'm reading this correct this will not work. The speed is not the same and also it is non-ECC and it should be for your computer. Of course I could be wrong.
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    It should work, but it is not the correct type. It'll run slower. Probably better off selling it and buying another 2GB stick to match what you have.
     
  6. forester54 macrumors member

    forester54

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Location:
    Washington
    #6
    it might work but do not have the heat sink's so I would personally not do it. Put it on eBay and buy the proper RAM because a Mac Pro is quite an investment so I would not risk it
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    It should, but Apple may have disabled the use of non ECC RAM, and it would default to 1066MHz. Also, it would likely have to be installed on it's own, not mixed with the stock memory, provided Apple didn't disallow its use in the firmware.
     
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    It's already been shown that non-ECC memory will work and down clock to 1066MHz if it is rated than that.
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    I thought that was only with a system that had the stock W3520 swapped out for an i7-975. So I didn't mention it, as I'm not sure if it matters or not (though it shouldn't).

    It's still technically possible to disable the non ECC functions if the CPU is ECC capable, though it would be so specialized, I'd think any such "memory tampering by Apple" would have been much simpler. ;) On or Off. :p
     
  10. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    I would buy some good RAM from otherworldcomputing.com

    Kind Regards
     
  11. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #11
    I second this. Sell the RAM on eBay and buy the real deal from OWC. OWC RAM is ECC, has nice sized heat spreaders, and also contains a thermal sensor specified by Apple. Although i don't believe the thermal sensor is absolutely required. Why not just put the RAM in your machine and see if it works? If it works without issues, then keep it! :)
     

Share This Page