will 4GB be enough for lion

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cpuguy18, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. cpuguy18 macrumors regular

    cpuguy18

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
  2. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
  3. cpuguy18 thread starter macrumors regular

    cpuguy18

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #3
    4gb of ram. i have a 2010 macbook pro with a 2.4ghz c2d. if i upgrade to lion will it run just as fast as snow leopard.
     
  4. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
  5. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #5
    Well....you can never have too much ram :rolleyes:

    But yes, 4gb in a system is plenty for surfing the web and even gaming in Mac OS (not that you have a whole lot to work with....)
     
  6. Junkie2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #6
    Installed Lion GM two days ago.

    Literally 10 minutes ago I just bought the upgrade from 4gb to 8gb of ram from OWC.

    For 90 bucks, it's definitely going to be worth it if you use your computer a lot.
     
  7. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #7
    Isn't Lion supposed to be more iOS like? 500MB should do just fine...
     
  8. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #8
    I agree. But 4 GB RAM will be more than enough for anything which you may care to ask it to do.
     
  9. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #9
    90 bucks? You overpaid. By about 50%.
     
  10. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #10
    I think he was including his RAM upgrade in that price as part of his whole upgrade "package".
     

Share This Page