Will 8Gb vs 16Gb on the rMBP affect lagging?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by i.love.caffeine, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. i.love.caffeine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    #1
    Basic question:

    Will 8Gb vs 16Gb on the rMBP have any affect on the lagging problem?
     
  2. Dwhite78 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #2
    Short answer. No.
     
  3. Trey M macrumors 6502a

    Trey M

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Absolutely none.

    Unless you're running a ton of applications and your system is sweating to survive on 8GB, but in that case the lag would be from an entirely different cause.
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    THough having 16gig will increase the vram allotment in the hd4000 compared to 8gigs from 384mb to 500mb iirc
     
  5. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #5
    No but Moutain Lion will.
     
  6. i.love.caffeine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    #6
    Is it possible to manually do this - as I feel i only really need 4GB ram anyways, so i could spare more for the video card.
     
  7. 01mggt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    If you have been actually following the threads you will see that the release build on ML 10.8 cures the lagging issues. This has always been a software not hardware issue. And I would only buy the 8gb machine if I plan to only keep it about 2 1/2 years honestly. The ram upgrade is only 200 bucks iirc.
     
  8. Fortimir macrumors 6502a

    Fortimir

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    The lagging has a couple sources causing it, but the main one is that the UI elements that are lagging can only use a single core of the processor. They've addressed these issues in Mountain Lion.
     
  9. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Are you sure about this? In the case of the HD3k, 4GB to 8GB increased VRAM from 384 to 512
     

Share This Page