Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Good User

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 23, 2014
several years ago there was a windows app called screen bright that was used to change the graphic cards gamma ramp and it had a warning that said "It might void your monitor's warranty", and its changes were permanent, even after a clean install of windows the changes remained. Yesterday I installed an app called supercal for mac, and I think it has changed some hardware settings like screen bright although the developers deny. I can clearly remember that in gradient test(http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/gradient.php) my screen showed a smooth gradient and now it has clear bands on it, and returning the display profile to color lcd won't make it like before. I am not an expert, so I have this question, Is this possible to change the settings of graphic card or other hardware in OS X?

FrozenDarkness

macrumors 68000
Mar 21, 2009
several years ago there was a windows app called screen bright that was used to change the graphic cards gamma ramp and it had a warning that said "It might void your monitor's warranty", and its changes were permanent, even after a clean install of windows the changes remained. Yesterday I installed an app called supercal for mac, and I think it has changed some hardware settings like screen bright although the developers deny. I can clearly remember that in gradient test(http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/gradient.php) my screen showed a smooth gradient and now it has clear bands on it, and returning the display profile to color lcd won't make it like before. I am not an expert, so I have this question, Is this possible to change the settings of graphic card or other hardware in OS X?