Will a G5 pull data from a TC connected to newer machine?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by hoya87eagle91, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. hoya87eagle91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    Hi,
    (Posted this in peripherals chat, but after 500 + views and no responses, I'm stuck!)
    My wife had been backing up her 2007 mbp running 10.7 to a 1st generation time capsule via time machine. Her mbp just died. Diagnosis from the tech shop= graphics issue. Data is fine.

    The question is: I have an idle G5 running 10.5.8. Can i just connect the G5 to her Time capsule like it's an external drive and start pulling up her backed up files? Can I copy all of that data to the G5 ?

    I'd rather use this G5 than get a new mini or iMac if I can get her data onto it. Am open to other intelligent suggestions.!

    Thanks
     
  2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #2
    I don't see why not. If you can, you may just want to reinstall Mac OS on the G5 and when prompted to restore from time machine, do it then. I would imagine you'll get everything except the applications.
     
  3. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3
    A couple of years ago my 2007 MBP failed due the Video card problem.
    I managed to start mine in Target disk mode (press the 'T' key) while powering on.
    Then using a FW cable connection to my Mac mini I was able to access the files I needed from my MBP.
    I was lucky, I still have this 2007 MBP fully upgraded max memory and an SSD boot drive, mine failed within the 4 year window Apple offered to repair or replace those with this known graphics problem.
     
  4. hoya87eagle91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Thank you. Will reinstalling the OS on the G5 erase any data or apps already on my G5?

    ----------

    Thanks! Ill try this tonight. I appreciate the suggestions
     
  5. hoya87eagle91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    Can't get the MBP to show up when booting in target mode. In fact the machine never seems to shut down or boot up.

    It makes the same sound as it would when waking from sleep - a short duration spin noise. I can't seem to fully shut it down or fully wake it. It's sleepwalking.

    I used an ethernet cable to connect the TC ( 10.7) to my old Power mac (10.5.8), navigated to the TC in finder and connected to it. I can view the files named "macbookpro.sparsebundle", but when I click on those sparebundle files, nothing shows
     
  6. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #6
    Reinstalling will wipe app the apps from the G5. If you can see that folder you mentioned above "macbookpro.sparsebundle" try holding "Command" and clicking on the file and selecting "Show Package Contents" if its listed in the drop menu. It may allow you to see individual files in there. Unfortunately, I'm away from any of my computers running Leopard or newer to experiment with some Time Machine features. You may also check the Time Machine preferences in the System Preferences and see if there is anything there that will allow you to restore from time machine backup without having to do a re-install on the G5. That may work too.
     

Share This Page