Will a HDD still be efficient for a student?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KitzelFox, Jun 22, 2012.

1. KitzelFox macrumors newbie

Hello everyone! Long time lurker, first time poster. :) I have looked for answers and information to this question for awhile now, nor have I been able to find any recent posts on the subject.

My question is: With all the recent developments in SSD's, are HDD's still okay for most everyday use? I am a student, finishing off my last year of Graphic Design school. I just purchased a non-retina 15" MBP with a 1TB hard drive. Do you think this will be fast enough in the meantime, at least until I can get a SSD in the next 1-2 years?

I am coming from a mid-2009 17" MBP (with a 500GB 5400rpm HDD), and I feel like anything at this point will be an improvement! I will mostly be using this new computer to play games, CS5 and for general use. If you could lend me your opinions, that would be wonderful. Thank you! :)

2. Feed Me macrumors 6502a

Feed Me

well HDDs have been fast enough since forever, until mysteriously they became really slow about three or so years ago.

3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

I don't see how it will be much an improvement in terms of hard drive, it should still be the same RPM as what you have now. I think it really comes down to preference. Of course hard drives are still useable, but I prefer SSD for the speed. It's nice not having to wait for programs to open.

4. KitzelFox thread starter macrumors newbie

I really don't care how long it takes for programs to open, that's not really an issue to me. Does an SSD also increase program performance itself, or just increase load times when initially opening the program? For example, would it give me a better frame rate inside of a game?

Sorry if I'm being confusing, I am not familiar with the performance of SSD's at all! :confused:

5. mikeo007 macrumors 65816