Will a HDMI to DVI adapter work?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by spinedoc77, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    I just finished my man cave and set up a nice Acer projector on a 110" screen with 7.1 sound, I built a special closet which houses my computer and it is a site to behold. Now my achilles heel is the embarrassingly huge lack of anything HD on the computer itself. Netflix is low resolution and sound is only in stereo, same with Amazon. Enter itunes, it's also only SD but it supposedly has 5.1 sound, but it doesn't work and from reading on the internet this is an old and well known problem.

    Anyhow I think I'm throwing in the towel here and accepting that the only way I will get HD and 5.1 is to purchase an Apple TV. Here is my problem: My projector only has one HDMI input and that's used up by the computer. It does have a DVI-D input. Part of the issue is that these cables are already run into the walls and the ceiling so I'm stuck with what I installed. I do have a DVI-D cable run to my entertainment center that I could potentially use with an Apple TV.

    So would it be possible to hook up the Apple TV, via a HDMI to DVI-D adapter?
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    dont think DVI does audio, so you going to have to use the toslink output.
     
  3. DarkVinda macrumors regular

    DarkVinda

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    i use dvi and toslink audio - so it does work that way not tried hdcp yet....



     
  4. spinedoc77 thread starter macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #4
    Yeah I'm going to hook it up thru a TOSlink. Anyone know if HDCP stuff will work thru HDMI to DVI? I know DVI spec includes HDCP.
     
  5. davige macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #5
    I tried hooking up aTV2 to an old Samsung plasma via HDMI to DVI adapter and no video. Probably HDCP issue.
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    It depends on the specs of the display device. I have an older Vizio TV with a DVI port - no HDMI port - but the specs state "DVI with HDCP," so my Apple TV works on it without trouble as does a Blu-Ray player. But as stated above, audio will have to be handled separately.
     
  7. spinedoc77 thread starter macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7
    It's an Acer H5360, it has an HDMI port but that's being used by my PC.
     

Share This Page