Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sannekita

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 4, 2007
Belgium
Hey, I'm a film student and i'll probably be buying a mac in january. Will the high end macbook run final cut pro properly? or should i save up a bit more and get the macbook pro? I like the macbook because it's easier to transport. i'll probably hook it up to an external screen, so screenwise it doesn't make a difference.
Thanks!

skubish

macrumors 68030
Feb 2, 2005
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Apple's website says that FCP will not run on the integrated graphics chip so therefore it won't even run on a MB.

I can't confirm it but it probably won't even allow you to install it.

Sannekita

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 4, 2007
Belgium
that's odd, i definitly know someone who has it running on their macbook. So it has to be possible... I just don't know how well the macbook runs it...

idea_hamster

macrumors 65816
Jul 11, 2003
NYC, or thereabouts
Sometimes Apple decides that a product "requires" certain features because (I assume) in their opinion the product's performance would otherwise be too poor.

One example was the original iPod Nano. Apple said that it "required" a USB 2.0 connection -- a factor that I didn't realize when I bought one (my PB had only USB 1.1). Did the Nano work? Sure -- but it took a fair bit of time to move even medium-sized pictures. It made you think twice about frequent updates.

typewriterchimp

macrumors member
Sep 30, 2005
Which apps do you need to run

from the final cut pro suite? The pro package includes many apps all with different minimum requirements. Some, like Color, really will only work well with a decent graphics card. Others, like Final Cut, will work fine using integrated graphics. The Final Cut Express software bundle does not list a video card in its requirements: