Will a Macbook Pro (Rev. A) function with DDR-800 RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by neoelectronaut, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. neoelectronaut macrumors 68030

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #1
    I'll be receiving my iMac in a few days, and I was planning on dropping a pair of 2GB modules into it in the near future. The plan was to give my sister, who has a Rev A Macbook Pro, the two 1GB modules that I'd be taking out of it to use in her computer.

    This was fine until the new computers ended up using DDR-800. Would this RAM work in the MBP? (Obviously at the 667 speed)
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Maybe, maybe not.

    It all depands if the SPD values on the module are programmed to respond correctly at 667. You can't tell this without specialized tools. All you can do it try it and hope.

    The Penryn MacBook Pros have had all kinds of problems with 800 MHz modules.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    If you already have the RAM, then it doesn't hurt to drive it; if you don't then for the sake of non-guaranteed compatibility, buy 667MHz RAM.

    So it might work, but no way to know; some work, some don't.
     
  4. neoelectronaut thread starter macrumors 68030

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #4
    Well I haven't received the computer yet. But, I can't hurt anything by trying right? If it doesn't work it just won't work?
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Well apart from the big fires and explosions, it doesn't hurt to try. :p
     

Share This Page