Will all 4K monitor's run in "Retina mode" in Yosemite?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dmylrea, Mar 5, 2015.

  1. dmylrea macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #1
    I remember reading that you can force a 4K monitor to run in Retina mode with some sort of "hack". Is that true for all 4K monitors?

    I'm thinking of this Acer B286HK monitor. Good reviews, great price.

    But, I don't want it if it's only going to display at native resolution because everything will be too small.

    Thanks.
     
  2. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #2
    Probably depends on the monitor. My P2415Q popped up properly as 1080p2x immediately when I plugged it in. I haven't seen anyone on here with that monitor.
     
  3. dmylrea thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #3
    I'm assuming 1080p2x is the same as what I refer to as "retina mode"?
     
  4. stempsons macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #4
    if your mac supports 4k resolution, yosemite will offer "best for display" pixel doubled (HiDPi) options just like a retina macbook.
     
  5. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #5
    My Acer B286HK, which is very popular as a lower-price UHD monitor, popped up right away at full res on my Hack. Currently running it at 1440p with increased DPI, which showed up in "scaled" mode in Display preferences.
     
  6. MacMutsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #6
    Currently I’m quite pleased with the 10.10.3 beta which not only offers the typical really useful HiDPI resolutions (e.g. 2560x1440, 3200x1800) for which in Mavericks I had to use „SwitchResX“ or „Display Menu“, it also enables my LG 31MU97 to use it’s native 4K / 4096x2160 and all it’s scaled HiDPI resolutions with 60 Hz.
    With Mavericks only 50 Hz were possible.

    Apple is improving the 4K/UHD support and prices for monitors are dropping - working with those highrez displays is really fun ;O)!
     
  7. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #7
    What gets automatically set up as "Best for Display" depends on the size of the monitor. Most 4k monitors 28" and under will default to the retina 1080p 2X mode. Larger monitors, like the 32" Sharp PN-K321, may use an unscaled resolution for Best for Display.
     
  8. dmylrea thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
  9. Lava Lamp Freak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #9
    Is this feature limited to 4k displays? I'm thinking about getting a Mac and this concerns me. I have Dell U2515H, which is a 25" display that is 2560x1440. I use 125% scaling in Windows, which looks the same as 2048x1152.
     
  10. R2FX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #10
    was there any noticeable difference between running the monitor on 50Hz vs 60Hz?
     
  11. Zarniwoop macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Location:
    West coast, Finland
    #11
    I think the answer depends on what is your monitors dpi. If you have 21.5" 4k monitor, it will use the standard retina settings. If you have bigger screen, it will scale less, but offers still HiDpi modes. However if it is near 40".. I'm not sure exactly where's the limit, but it wont support hidpi modes any more.
     
  12. axantas macrumors member

    axantas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Home
    #12
    No. I actually had to force my Dell P2415q down to 50Hz due to grapcic problems @60Hz (glitches), which eliminated the glitches. I also tested 30Hz, which revealed visible stutterings (moving the mouse pointer for example), but 50Hz is absolutely fine.
     
  13. R2FX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for the info, appreciate it! I'm thinking of getting the same LG 4K and my mid 2014 rMBP can only run it at 50Hz (I'm still and planning to stay on Mavericks)
     
  14. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #14
    can I ask what system you're running this monitor on? I'm trying to use one with a 2009 mac pro with an unflashed evga 750 ti and it just displays a black screen with displayport. thanks
     
  15. axantas macrumors member

    axantas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Home
    #15
    I am on a MacPro 2013 with the D300. You might have to enable DP 1.2 in the Menu of your Monitor or (on a Dell p2415q) switch MST OFF or switch to secondary instead of primary MST. I get a black screen using primary MST as well. Why? No idea.
    Secondary MST uses 30 Hz, MST off (which appears to be "enable DP1.2" for newer Dell Monitors) uses 60 Hz.
     

Share This Page