Will an AirPort Express create a "wired" connection on a wi-fi network?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by dealmaker, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. dealmaker, Mar 28, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2016

    dealmaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #1
    Guys,

    I have an interesting problem. I have a device (its a Yamaha piano) that needs a "wired" ethernet connection (its an older device that has no wi-fi card/connection) - and as it sits in the middle of a room - there is no elegant way of running a CAT cable to it. It has power and there are loads of places to "hide" things inside/underneath it.

    So the question is - if I buy an AirPort Express, connect that to my existing wi-fi network - install the Airport beneath the device and connect it to power - I have suddenly have a connected wi-fi box with an Ethernet port on it - so if I plug my device into the ethernet port on the Airport- will my device "see" the internet and act like it has a wired connection?

    I don't want to order one if this won't work!!

    Thanks
     
  2. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    Yes. Set it up to join or add to the existing network, not extend it. Otherwise it will impede the network.
     
  3. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
    hmm
    are you sure?

    does this work with all Express versions?
     
  4. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #5
    The current version works.

    The ethernet port acts as ifmit is a port of the base station.

    You could always just get a powerline ethernet adaptor instead, but the Express promises a lot of alternative uses.
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Yes. All wireless N Express models have this functionality. Wireless G models do not have this ability however.
     
  6. r8ders2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    #7
    Have you considered using one of the PowerLine, ethernet over power, devices?
     

Share This Page