Will an older Macbook Pro still be perform?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dldjr31, Sep 4, 2015.

1. dldjr31 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am a college student and looking to purchase my first Macbook Pro. I am currently using an old 15' Sony Vaio laptop with an E2 vision AMD. It is pretty old. It cant run anything in HD, battery is dead, left clicker doesn't work, and is laggy even while browsing.

I wanted to know if I could purchase an older 13" MBP, but still be able to perform daily task. I need it for work, school, entertainment. I simply want a laptop that will not lag while browsing and will allow me to watch Netflix/Youtube in HD.

How old of a MBP can I purchase?

Macbook Air is also and options, but I figured I can upgrade the MBP to last longer if I bought an older model

Thank You All :)

2. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

b0fh666

2011 or 2012 would work just fine with newer OSX... older maybe not.

3. c8rlo macrumors 6502

c8rlo

i'm currently using a Mid 2010 13" MBP 2.4 GHz, upgraded the RAM to 8GB(supports 16GB) with a 256GB SSD running the latest Yosemite 10.10.5 and it runs smoothly with no hiccups...

4. Technarchy macrumors 603

Technarchy

A co-worker just picked up a 2011 MBP and beyond the worn out battery is runs incredibly smooth with Yosemite.

I was actually pretty impressed.

5. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

I would go with a Sandy Bridge or newer CPU, so 2011 or newer. Older ones will work great and might be fine for your needs though. It is probably best to avoid 2011 15" and 17" models due to GPU failures.

6. Fishrrman macrumors G3

Pay careful attention to what 556fmjoe wrote above.

2011 15" and 17" MacBook Pro models are prone to failures of the graphics board.

7. zhenya macrumors 603

zhenya