Will Apple ever put HDTV tuner in iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by swingerofbirch, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #1
    I don't know much about HDTV, so this question might be out there...but with a gorgeous display on the new iMacs, and front row built in..would it be difficult to include an HDTV tuner so that you could just plug your cable line into the back of the iMac?

    I know that there are external solutions ( http://www.elgato.com )

    but to be quite honest their website confuses me.
     
  2. OnceUGoMac macrumors 6502a

    OnceUGoMac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    #2
    Apple has a different strategy regarding Mac/TV compatibility. It's called Apple TV.
     
  3. atari1356 macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #3
    I think something like that is probably still left to a third party. Not everybody needs or wants a tv tuner in their computer... and it would just add to the expense.

    There's also the complication of different formats being used in various countries. Plus, Apple would probably rather have you pay for the tv shows through iTunes.

    If you just want to pick up the over-the-air HDTV signals (ATSC if you're in the US), then the EyeTV Hybrid is very good. I have one, and since I live in a fairly large city, I can get a good signal and around 20 usable channels.

    If you have cable, and you want to get tv from your cable box into your iMac - then I think it gets more complicated.

    This page should help you choose which product would be right for you:
    http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=products_eyetvmain2&countrytogo=36&signal=all
     
  4. mr_matalino macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    Agreed. They want you to buy the shows via itunes, not record them.
     
  5. EvilDoc macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #5
    This is an easy one, this will never, ever, ever happen. Ever... ;)
     
  6. swingerofbirch thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #6
    Hmm, so it seems you can use the El Gato products for HDTV that comes over the air but now over cable. I'll have to find out if I have any over the air in my area...where do you put the antenna? Is it large? Does it need to be outside?
     
  7. slimslam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Never say never :p

    But i do agree with what is being said in this post, the best option is elgato, there are other companies that do similar products but most recommend elgato.
    From what i have read about the antenna it is a small antenna that just sits on your desk but people have had different experiences with the antenna saying it is quite weak. But you can simply just buy a better antenna at many shops and cost very little. Also the only way to get HD content through the device is via the antenna because it only has composite and s-video(or somin) links not a component or hdmi port.
    I know the hybrid offers the least lag time which is why it is recommended for use with games consoles and it definately comes with the antenna, the other products i am sure about but elgato has a good, straight forward comparison chart on their website:
    http://www.elgato.com/matrix/index.php
     
  8. RickT67 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Maine
    #8
    Dare to dream of the day..... 30" iMac with HD Tuner & Blu Ray drive... and maybe some other goodies?
     
  9. jesteraver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #9
    30" iMac 2160p *yum* with Ultrahd tv tuner :eek: plus 25000:1 (LCD-LED) contrast ratio and 1000 cd/m2
     
  10. jesteraver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    one thing i have the elgato hybrid, i have a regular satellite receiver hooked to it, i should try out an hd one
     
  11. acebo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #12
    Apple DID allow you to tune HD content..

    Just download the Apple Firewire SDK, connect your Mac to your HD set-top box with a Firewire cable and then enjoy HD content on your Mac, live and streaming.

    Here's a how-to:
    http://digg.com/apple/Watch_HDTV_on_your_Mac

    Please digg it, if you like it :)
     
  12. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #13
    It's called the most quickly hacked and even quicker forgotten apple product ever!
     
  13. Tara Davis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #14
    Never say never, but when the EyeTV Hybrid costs only $150 and is basically just a little bulge in the cable chain between the Mac and the antenna wall plug, is it really something anybody needs that desperately?

    I have both an EyeTV 500 and a Hybrid, and one thing I've noticed is that the tuner itself runs HOT. The iMac (or Mac mini) would probably be either a lot bigger or a lot louder if you stuffed an HDTV tuner inside of it.
     

Share This Page