Will Apple Geniuses help me?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by xXSL1MXx, May 11, 2011.

  1. xXSL1MXx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #1
    I have an iPhone 4 that I bought off of eBay. It came but with one problem. It has a jammed power button. You can still click it, but with some force. I heard that this is a problem that came with the newer made iPhone 4's. having checked its warranty status, it has Apple coverage that the person bought for it until June 2012. Will they fix it for me if I go in to the Apple Store or maybe even give me a new one? I currently do NOT have an account with it. It is not jailbroken or unlocked, it just says "No Service". Will they help me?
     
  2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
  3. Btrthnezr3 macrumors 6502a

    Btrthnezr3

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I went in for a stuck sleep/wake button two weeks ago and they handed me a new (refurb) phone.

    Why does it say no service? You may have to activate it under your plan first.
     
  4. xXSL1MXx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #4
    It says No Service because I don't have a SIM card for it. Doesn't mean it's unlocked, just no plan. I really hope they don't reject me service because I don't have AT&T.....
     
  5. Goldinboy17 macrumors 65816

    Goldinboy17

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca
    #5
    An easy way to guarantee that they won't would be to buy a simple prepaid GoPhone at Walmart and cut down the SIM card to size.
     
  6. xXSL1MXx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #6
    Would that work even though the phone isn't unlocked? I thought it had to have the data plan and everything...
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Just bring it in, you don't need a sim.
    Show them the problem and if they ask tell them you left the sim at home or inside your other phone.
    It's not like it matters.
     
  8. xXSL1MXx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #8
  9. Btrthnezr3 macrumors 6502a

    Btrthnezr3

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Good idea here.
     
  10. Ponderous macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    Only way you'll know is to get in there and find out. Be polite and I'm sure good things will happen.
     

Share This Page