will apple let me exchange for 4GB version?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by karkid, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. karkid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #1
    I've been using my 13 inch MBA for a few hours now and feel like i should have gone for the 4GB ram version.

    Will they let me exchange without a fee?
     
  2. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #2
    Probably. Let us know how it goes down.

    Why do you think you need the larger RAM size?

    cheers
    John/G
     
  3. karkid thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #3
    i sold my macbook pro i5 to get this... i tend to switch machine's alot and think that the 4GB will hold a little more value in 2 months

    also photoshop on this and 2GB is not ENOUGH with imovie running at the same time
     
  4. diablo2112 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #4
    If I may ask, why? I've been using the 11.6" MBA with 2GB for the last 2 days. Can't say I've seen a beach-ball yet, and that's with Safari running with up to 20 tabs. This machine is FAST. Other than the anxiety from paper-spec envy, I honestly don't see how folks can complain about the performance. What software are you using that is limited by RAM? Are you getting beach balls/slow downs?

    BTW, I'm not the only one to make this observation. Here's a published report of speed in the 2GB/1.4 GHz version:

    http://www.cultofmac.com/11-inch-macbook-air-first-impression-its-freakin-fast/65623
     
  5. ReallyBigFeet macrumors 68030

    ReallyBigFeet

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #5
    I can see why 2GB is "enough" when all you are doing is surfing the web. For someone trying to do video editing, 4GB is likely a far better choice.
     
  6. Moodikar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I've used Photoshop on my 2.13 MBA and it worked fine. You can avoid slow downs with just keeping less apps open with 2gig of ram but honestly it depends on your needs. Intense 3d or gaming or video editing rendering might not be the best but if it isn't all the time, sure anything can be a work around.
     
  7. diablo2112 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #7
    I understand that the MBA isn't well-suited for video editing, and would hope most others reading this understand that as well. Of all the common tasks, video editting is probably the one that shouldn't be done on an ultraportable. Video editing demands a fast processor, lots of RAM, and large amounts of storage for efficient work, not to mention an easy way to get videos into the machine. If your main application is video editing, it seems rather odd to me that you're considering the MBAs. Apologies if this offends anyone, but it seems rather obvious to me. Outside of this application, pretty much everything else on the MBA seems to run extremely well with just 2GB of RAM.
     
  8. Moodikar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Surprisingly I have video edited using my rev C. Nothing intense but it was final cut pro editing Standard definition.

    Now that Hd is here, I did edit a few Hd files but did take forever to render.

    It definitely isn't for regular day to day editing as Diablo mentioned but can be a work around if necessary or when your stuck.
     

Share This Page