Will Broadwell M cut off the MBA's balls?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by cairene2011, Dec 30, 2014.

1. cairene2011 Guest

TLDR: Could anyone tell me more about the Broadwell M in laymen's terms? Is it likely to turn the rMBA into a mere consumption device or will it still be able to deliver power for light 1080p video editing?

I've been holding out for the rMBA refresh since 2013, because my little MBA 11" from 2011 has a failing battery (2 hours on a good day). Battery life has always been piss poor, because it doesn’t harmonize with the power-hungry i7 1.8 GHz. This meant manifold charges every day depending on the usage. Unsurprisingly the battery swelled up eventually and dislocated the keys and trackpad.

These days, I'm still adoring its light weight and tiny footprint, which especially in cabin luggage does make a big difference, but I start finding the screen too small to do productive work. It’s quite the dilemma.
    It sounds like I'm the perfect user for the 12" rMBA. Bigger screen, same small footprint. Not so fast….
    This year, I also bought an iPad Mini Retina, which now accompanies me on train journeys, „coffee shop outings“ and the like and the MBA seldom leaves the house anymore except when we go on longer trips.

I use the 11" MBA as my main machine and hook it to and external monitor, if needed. My MBA juggles the work of a grown-up computer, it processes long MS Word Documents (50 pages+), edits and renders 1080p videos, it plays Minecraft every once in a while (I know, there is a logical contradiction with "grown-up" there ;-)) and it manages vast Aperture libraries.
    I'm getting increasingly worried that the M processor won't allow proper video editing and will stutter in my Word documents (the i7 1.8 GHz in my 11" is already stuttering from time to time). But maybe the 8GB RAM in a new machine (as opposed to my current 4GB) will take care of that.