Will Civilization 6 run on a late 2016 13'' MBP with TB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Earl475, Nov 23, 2016.

  1. Earl475 macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #1
    I am close to just invest the EUR 60 for Civ 6 and try it out, but maybe somebody already tried that?

    I've got a maxed out 13'' with TB so I am sure it will work in some way but am curious how good it will run, especially in the late phase of the game.

    Thank you in advance for any insights!
     
  2. thesaint024 macrumors 6502a

    thesaint024

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Republic of California
    #2
    This is the best question regarding the new MBP's.
     
  3. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #3
    Haha...it's running around my head for weeks now...and google is still not very helpful :-(
     
  4. UnluckyXIII macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    #4
    Would be interested in knowing how it performs as I'll definitely be picking it up when my tMBP arrives :)
     
  5. bopajuice macrumors 6502a

    bopajuice

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    #5
    This proves a point I have tried to make in other threads. I suspect many people are unhappy with the "Pro" version because they want to use it for games. I wonder if maybe Apple is missing the mark and should instead be offering a high end gaming or entertainment type rig, instead of a one size fits all "Pro" rig.
     
  6. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #6
    Great, what's your estimated delivery window? 13'' or 15''?
     
  7. thesaint024 macrumors 6502a

    thesaint024

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Republic of California
    #7
    I hope Civ 6 isn't massively graphics intensive like an FPS. That was always one of the nice things about it.

    I respectfully disagree about the direction Apple should go on the MBP's. Gaming laptops are a whole 'nother level of power and would be massive like the high end PC ones now. Sounds like you need a hackintosh gaming rig. But there are like 15 of you in the world that would buy a 7-10lb, $5k MBP that gamed when a $1500 desktop would perform better. Funny how gaming still requires the most intensive, cutting edge consumer level computers.
     
  8. ritbethere macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #8
    Haha...Hope we have a lab rat to test and tell us the result soon!
     
  9. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #9
    Civ 6 runs adequately on the 2015 13" MBP, even though it's technically below spec (both CPU and GPU). I have details turned down, but it plays perfectly well. I've run games into 600 turns or so.

    So I suspect it will run pretty well on the better Iris chip.
     
  10. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #10

    Nice, thx for the info! Just to be sure, you play in normal mode not strategic right?
     
  11. Abaganov macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    #11
    here is a guy testing out Civ 6 on the same specs as the base model no TB Macbook pro, seems to be running smoothly

     
  12. New_Mac_Smell macrumors 65816

    New_Mac_Smell

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Location:
    UK / China
    #12
    I've heard mixed results with Civ6. I'd imagine it runs fine just don't attempt it at native resolution!

    I honestly have no idea about Civ, is it still that turn based game thing? I stopped playing them when RTS's became playable. But it's like the only game I see people wanting to know if it will run on the MBP, I'm honestly tempted to see what it is after all this fuss on this forum!
     
  13. ocrane macrumors member

    ocrane

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #13
    I have the 2016 15" TB with the 460 and CIV 6. runs super smooth, but heats up pretty quick!
     
  14. thesaint024 macrumors 6502a

    thesaint024

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Republic of California
    #14
    Bragging! jk. It's not surprising that it runs well on a dedicated GPU, question is on the Iris 540/550.
     
  15. ocrane macrumors member

    ocrane

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #15
    Ah, whoops gotcha
     
  16. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #16
    thx....this one I also found...question is, if it's comparable to macOS. But if it runs like this I would be very satisfied.
     
  17. Murgatroyd314 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #17
    The one potential issue I see is that the published system requirements call for a quad-core CPU, and the 13" comes with a dual-core.
     
  18. thesaint024 macrumors 6502a

    thesaint024

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Republic of California
    #18
    Man, why would a turn based game require a quad core?! That's disappointing if it's true. But early reports are that it ˆshouldˆ run ok on the 13.
     
  19. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #19
    It probably does a lot of calculations and can use the extra threads. It definitely seems to take some time between turns when things get complicated. But not that bad.
     
  20. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #20
    True, the specs are above those of the current (or any) 13'' MBP but after AlanShutko's post I am confident that it will work...and some time between turns is not that of a problem.

    I am close to just try it...will I be that lab rat?? Damn...let's see what the weekend has to say about that...
     
  21. Jens1983 macrumors regular

    Jens1983

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #21
    Play the lab rat, please! :)

    I want to play it, too. Would be my first Civ after years.
     
  22. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #22
    Haha...I'm on a business trip until Sunday, after that nothing holds me back :)

    BTW, I remember you from the EU shipping thread, so your new MBP made it's way to Berlin after all, great!
     
  23. Jens1983 macrumors regular

    Jens1983

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #23
    Hey. Yes. Actually, I was one of the first ones to hold it in my hands.

    I still have the typical issue with the battery though. And I currently refrain from installing windows on it. Thus, the question on playing Civ on the Mac directly.
     
  24. Earl475 thread starter macrumors member

    Earl475

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    #24

    What typical issue with the battery? You mean apple says 10, it holds 6 to 7 and under heavy load only 2? Is that really an issue? To my experience, from my 3 former MacBook (Pros) this is totally normal.
     
  25. Jens1983 macrumors regular

    Jens1983

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #25
    Indeed, I have to admit that I cannot give a final result now. I think you can state battery times after a week and not after one day. Anyhow, I only got 4 hours battery life so far (only some office tasks). This seems to be very low.
     

Share This Page