Will extra RAM solve my performance issues?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kptphoto, Oct 27, 2010.

1. kptphoto macrumors newbie

Hello to all

I am a photographer who shoots weddings and events in RAW and HDR images for a gallery. I own a late 2009 iMac with 4 GB of RAM and process my images in Photoshop CS5.

I have been given conflicting views by Apple sales staff so would like the community to answer a question for me.

JPEG files are processed easily on my iMac, RAW files slow it down and HDR (file sizes of 200mb and more) cause it to throw a wobbly.

I have used activity monitor and it shows RAM usage up to 3.94GB. Processor usage at up to 190%. I am told this is OK for a duo core. (The screen updates when processor usage drops below 100%).

A member of Apple staff advised more RAM will solve the problem. Another advised I would be wasting my money and should wait until I can afford a Mac Pro (bit of a wait ha ha).

Can anyone advise, based on experience, whether an extra 4 GB of RAM is the way to go or whether I should save my money towards a Mac Pro.

Thanks for your advice.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

What iMac do you have? 2x2GB of RAM is like 70 bucks and will definitely increase the performance. Those talks about Mac Pro were just salesman's pathetic tries to make you buy something.

BTW, Photoshop can only take advantage of four threads thus Mac Pro would be waste of money as similar iMac can be had for less.

3. Makosuke macrumors 603

You didn't say if it was a 27" or 21" iMac; if it's a 27" you have four RAM slots, so as Hellhammer said adding an extra 4GB is an absolute no brainer.