Will FINAL CUT PRO 5 run on new intel Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Joko, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. Joko macrumors 6502

    Joko

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    It's the only version I can get at the moment, will it work?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mperkins37 macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Yes it should run fine. I have seen it running on 2 or 3 machines with leopard.
     
  3. cdarlington1 macrumors regular

    cdarlington1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    #3
    Yes...but...

    Version 5 will work but if you can get 5.1, it's for intel mac...
     
  4. AviationFan macrumors 6502a

    AviationFan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #4
    When 5.1 (first universal binary of FCP) was first introduced, you used to be able to "crossgrade" from 5.0 for a mere $49:

    http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2006/mar/30fcstudio.html

    I don't know if the deal is still on, but I'd highly recommend you try to get 5.1 so you can run natively on Intel.

    - Martin
     
  5. mperkins37 macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    OOPS, I totally forgot to add the 5.1 info. Not enough coffee this morning.
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    If you don't already have all the installers up to 5.1.4 you should probably just buy the upgrade to FCS2.


    Lethal
     
  7. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #7
    No. You need FCP 5.1 or higher for an IntelMac.

    Apple's special crossgrade offer to v5.1 expired in March, 2007 (after being available for over a year).

    -DH
     

Share This Page