Will Fusion Run On This?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Chase817, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. Chase817 macrumors member

    Chase817

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #1
    Before I go and buy VMWare Fusion, I'd like to know a few things.

    1st of all, will it work with a Windows Vista partition already on my system? Or will I have to re-install windows to it?

    2nd, will it run with low-lag on a MacBook 2,1 with a 320 GB 5400rpm disk and 3 GB ram? (there is 4 GB installed, it just doesn't use 1GB)

    Thanks
     
  2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #2
    It should be fine. It runs on my hackintosh EEE, with a little lag (1.6 solo, 2gb ram).

    Cheers.
     
  3. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #3
    (1) It will absolutely run with your current Vista partition in Boot Camp. You won't need to install Windows again. This was the primary reason I went with Fusion.

    (2) Sounds like a pretty robust machine, I can't imagine you having any trouble there. My install is on an iMac, so it's not quite the same comparison, but mine runs smooth as silk.
     
  4. tompon1923 macrumors 6502

    tompon1923

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    15°35'30.45S 54°31'22.17E
    #4
    I run both Windows and linux under VMware, it is not really for gaming or anything but it runs nice. I believe (I'm not sure) there's a demo you can try out.
     
  5. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Another vote here for VMWare Fusion, running on a Core 2 Duo/1.83GHz Mac mini with 2.5GB RAM. I use it to test websites with IE6 and IE7 on XP.

    P.S.: I really hate IE6. :p
     

Share This Page