Will genius replace my iphone 4 if...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Champ2, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Champ2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #1
    I have the error message "This acccessory is not optimized ..." constantly displayed every 2-3 minutes. There is no sign of water damage.

    regarding water damage i read that there is a marker which turns pink or red if there has been water damage where as i can honestly say the only thing that looks like a marker is a solid white.

    I am travelling away with work next week and will be out of the UK for 2-3months so it is essential that i get a replacement.

    What are my chances of an issue like this getting a straight swap?
    will they have reserved stock for replacements? as i dont want to be told that my 45 minute drive was a waste of time and that they will send me a new one when they receive one...

    your opinions?
     
  2. Champ2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
  3. grantsdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #3
    It just does it randomly, without anything plugged in? And you've already tried restoring?

    Yeah, they'll replace it.

    BTW, no need for a 7 minute bump.

    Do they have genius appointments across the pond? If so, make one before you leave.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    If there's no water damage they will replace it.
     
  5. Champ2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #5

    Yeah no water damage, its been no where near water plus the indicator is still white in the dock part

    i have an appointment for saturday but my problem is its very sporadic now.... 10-20 pop ups in 10 mins and then nothing for a few hours. would it be worth taking video evidence for the genius

    also anyone know what 32 gig stock levels are actually like for london/brent cross store
     
  6. yettimillan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #6
    YES.

    I had the same thing, they changed my 3GS.
     
  7. adomanico18 macrumors member

    adomanico18

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/Hamilton, ON
    #7
    :)

    YES :D I had the same thing with my iphone 4 and they swapped it out for me.
     

Share This Page