Will I be able to put non-ECC memory in my late 2013 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Pseud0, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. Pseud0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    #1
    Considering buying one, but as usual Apple over charge on adding memory.
     
  2. DarthVader! macrumors member

    DarthVader!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #2
    Do you already have ECC memory in the Mac Pro, All things being equal, I'd think you'll run into problems mixing/matching different memory types.

    I'm also skeptical that non ECC ram will even work in the MP
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    It will.
     
  4. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #4
    My assumption is it will work fine but when searching for quality 32GB kits in the UK, non ECC was £278 and ECC was £300 so not a lot in it.
     

Share This Page