Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crazyeyes

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 5, 2005
Easton PA
Hey guys i am getting a 20" iMac 2.1G5 soon. I will have the standard 512MB of ram for now. But when i go to buy aperature i am going to buy an extra 1GB to give it a total of 1.5GB of ram. Will i be fine running aperature. Oh and is aperature better than CS2? I am planning on getting into photography. I am new to it but i have the mac and figured if Aperature is better than CS2 i will get that cause i can get it for $249 at the student price. So it is cheaper than CS2 and from what i hear better than it. So any suggestions please let me know. I currently have a 20" 2.0 RevB iMac and am bringing it back whent he apple store calls me to get my new iMac. So i am just wondering will i be able to run aperature decently? Also what cameras are reccomended for a starting camera? I was looking at the Cannon Powershot S2, any suggestions on a camera would be great i don't want to spend more than say $500 on a camera.

milky23

macrumors regular
Oct 23, 2005
Hi there.

I'm no expert but I'll do my best to answer your questions.

According to Apple's website, you should be okay. The recommended system is a PowerMac G5, but their minimum specs include a "17- or 20-inch iMac G5 with a 1.8 GHz or faster PowerPC G5 processor" and 1gb of ram.

Also, it seems to me that Aperature and Photoshop CS2 are two entirely different applications. I'd say it is like comparing apples to oranges. Unfortunately, I am not well equipped to identify the main differences. Could someone enlighten us both?

vashim66

macrumors member
Oct 25, 2003