Will I benefit from Aperture?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iPilot, Aug 22, 2007.

1. iPilot macrumors newbie

I am in need of some quick advice as to whether or not I would benefit from getting Aperture ($150 with the education discount) with my new imac, or if iPhoto would work fine for me.

A few details about me: I am essentially new to both macs and digital photography. This will be my first mac, and I know nothing about them. While I have owned a digital camera for about a year (Canon 30d with a few different lenses), I know very little about photography in general. Additionally, as I have yet to even transfer any of my roughly 2000 photos to computer, I have zero experience with any kind of photo software. Add to this the fact that I seem to be somewhat computer illiterate.

On one hand I am thinking that Aperture would be overkill for me, and that I should just start out on something much simpler like iPhoto. I'm afraid that if I have trouble with Aperture, I will only get frustrated and stop using it. On the other hand, I would hate to bypass Aperture, only to realize later that I'd like to have it, because then I'd have to pay full price.

Would it be beneficial for someone like myself with basically zero experience to get Aperture, or should I just stick with iPhoto for now to get my feet wet?

I appreciate any quick responses, as this is the only decision I have yet to make before placing my order for a new imac, and switching to the other side!

Thanks

2. macphisto macrumors regular