Will I notice a 4 to 8 RAM upgrade?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rsted222, May 18, 2011.

  1. rsted222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #1
    Just bought the new iMac (base, 21.5) and I LOVE this thing. I just do basic stuff like internet, iPhoto, iMovie, and that's about it. I noticed through OWC I can add 4 gb of RAM for $50. Question is, with what I do, is there even a point to the upgrade.

    Thanks.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Unless you've found 2x4 GB of compatible RAM for $50, you'd only be upgrading from 4 GB to 6 GB. The iMacs come with 2x2 GB installed; so you'd have to remove one stick to put in the other.

    In any case, I don't think you'd notice much difference.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    The 21.5" and 27" iMac have four memory slots (page 37), thus buying one 4GB stick and adding it to the already two 2GB sticks will get the OP 8GB.

    OP, if you have many memory hungry applications open at once or just use one intensively, you will notice a difference.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Oh right; 4 memory slots. This isn't a laptop.
     
  5. Binary Ninja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #5
    check the memory usage ...something like iStat pro should give you a rough indication of RAM usage .. as said above some apps / files use more RAM then others most people can get away with 4gb ... but if you are using the system for high end editing or serious graphics work then you might need more
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    One can also use Activity Monitor:
     
  7. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for the input

    Good info
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    HDD ≠ RAM, thus "memory" is not the same as "hard drive capacity":
    What is Computer Memory? RAM vs Hard Drive
    RAM vs. Hard Disk

    And the links below the image you quoted explain some things.

    Also have a look at this (which includes a link to MRoogle, a search engine for MR, which can help you to find answers, which have often been given():
     
  9. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #10
    I need a new iMac ... and maybe more ram.

    Just ran System Monitor and opened up four 18 megapixel images in PSE9.

    Almost 4 year old iMac with 3 Gigs of Ram isn't cutting it! LOL

    I was watching CPU usage and man even that gets hammered from time to time. :eek:
     
  10. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #11
    No. Save the $50 to put towards a backup drive (if you dont already have one)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...m1043X499650X678dc72029fe9d2adeb93d6970296cc8
     
  11. macses macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #12
    just ordered the BTO 27" iMac 3,4Ghz i7
    I didn't upgrade the ram when I ordered as I was planning to do it myself.
    In the past I was told ram should always be symmetrical.
    so, now I have 2x2Gb already inside.
    Can I order 2x4Gb and pu it in the free slots, or is it better to order 2x2Gb ram so I end up with 8Gb symmetrical ram.
     
  12. rufhausen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    #13
    It should not make any difference whether you put 2x2 or 2x4 along side the existing 2x2.
     
  13. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #14
    Olden days.

    More ram always trumps.

    Not sure what you are doing harcosparky, but my iMac *is* 4 years old (in august) and I can open 4 50 meg PSD files in about 5 seconds.
     
  14. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #15
    Running PSE9, opening 4 18 megapixel ( about 32MB each ) Camera RAW image files.

    Had one download running.

    I could throw more Ram in it, and I know there would be an improvement.

    It's not the time to open the files so much as when you begin to apply changes to many files at once, but that is done in another program.
     
  15. cocky jeremy macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #16
    It really depends on how many apps you run. I recently upgraded from 4 GB to 8 GB of RAM. I don't notice a SPEED difference so much, but i can run many more apps without it slowing the way it used to. I used to run:

    Mail, Safari, iChat, iTunes, Skype, NewsRack, Echofon.

    Now i run those plus: Delibar, Bowtie, Fantastical, iStat Menus, MainMenu, Boom, WeatherDock, BetterTouchTool, and TypeIt4Me.

    Now, running all those extra apps, i still typically have 1-2 GB of RAM unused.
     
  16. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #17
    4GB to 8GB RAM, will you notice any difference? Honestly it really depends on your usage.

    Unless you're doing high end multimedia, games or video then you're not going to notice any difference besides the obvious $50 missing from your wallet.
     

Share This Page