Will iPad Pro Drive Up The Price of Apps?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by jazz1, Oct 16, 2015.

1. jazz1 macrumors 65816

jazz1

I'm eagerly awaiting the release of the IPP. However, it got me to thinking that if this is an "enterprise" device is there going to be some "pro" tiered apps with higher prices than we are used accustomed?

One of the great features of the iPad in the first place was that the apps were very reasonably priced and acceptably "low powered" compared to apps for Apple computers. I'm not a developer and I'm not familiar with the rules governing pricing of apps via the official Apple app stores.

With the larger screen and "higher power" of the IPP could we be looking at prices that compare to applications for full blown computers?

That said good software is worth supporting through purchase.

2. engineerben macrumors regular

engineerben

You know, Microsoft has already done that. On the iPad you can use Word for IOS to edit files without a subscription; on the IPP you have to have an Office 365 subscription to edit files (you can always view files).

I agree - good software is worth paying for, and I suspect software that takes advantage of the bigger screen, faster CPU and pencil will be priced somewhat higher.

3. Dranix macrumors 6502a

Dranix

My price target for special iPP apps is currently in the 10-20eur range while I see normal iPad apps at max 10eur. But this is developer thinking. No guess how the market will react to it.

4. sjleworthy macrumors 65816

sjleworthy

i suspect there'll be a higher general bottom line flat rate for Pro sized apps. but i dont suspect it'll be that much higher.
    but i highly suspect devs will take the new liberty of charging more than the usual for more 'pro' pro apps. as mentioned above, i can certainly see 10-20 bucks a piece for the 'better' softwares. and i suspect we'll see some truly awesome and deserving apps made available.

5. Amazing Ox Space Monkey macrumors member