Will iPhone 4 lock to o2?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Littleman, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. Littleman macrumors regular

    Littleman

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    Took my daughter out to the park last week and lost my Iphone 4 bought from an o2 shop a few months ago. Gutted.
    Insurance came though (not gutted) and have just received my new freshly sealed, unopened iPhone 4 from the insurance company.

    Is there a way to check if it is an unlocked phone before putting my replacement o2 micro sim in?

    Also, when I put my sim in, will it then lock to o2?

    Its charging at the mo, so gonna try in a bit.

    Any advice is appreciated.
     
  2. Lostanddamned macrumors 6502a

    Lostanddamned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I don't believe that if you put an O2 sim into an unlocked iPhone it will be locked to that network - I sold my old unlocked 3GS to afriend and he now uses it on vodaphone with no difficulties. My current iPhone 4 was bought SIM free from Apple and is currently on O2, but has spent some time on Orange during a friends crisis...
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    If it was locked to o2 before the replacement will be also. If it was factory unlocked the replacement will also be the same.
     
  4. Littleman thread starter macrumors regular

    Littleman

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #4
    many thanks.

    So as soon as i synced with itunes (and maybe updated carrier settings) it locked it to o2 :(

    I havn't got a new micro sim to test but i assumed it might.
     
  5. Lostanddamned macrumors 6502a

    Lostanddamned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Just out of curiosity, how did you check that the phone had been locked to O2?
     
  6. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    was it o2 insurance, or a third party insurance? if it was third party, it may be factory unlocked, if it was o2, it'll likely be locked. either way, it will or won't be regardless of what do, just try it I guess.
     
  7. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #7
    Indeed.

    Surely it's locked when it activates and checks apple's servers for its lock status, which tells it to lock to O2... ?
     
  8. duction macrumors 6502a

    duction

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    U to the K
    #8
    take it hes gonna sell his new unlocked phone ;p
     
  9. Littleman thread starter macrumors regular

    Littleman

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #9
    So as soon as i synced with itunes (and maybe updated carrier settings) it locked it to o2 :(

    I should have put a question mark after is. I am not sure it is locked. I have no way of telling.


    It was 3rd party insurance. Lloyds tsb phone insurance.

    Suction - why would i sell it? I love my iPhone.
     
  10. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #10
    I don't think it works like that.

    EDIT: it doesn't... see attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  11. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #11
    If the phone is unlocked, you get this message if you restore the phone in iTunes...

    Screen shot 2010-10-09 at 17.00.58.png
     

Share This Page