Will it be possible to patch Catalina and install on 5,1?

Discussion in 'macOS Catalina (10.15)' started by Apple Master, Jun 7, 2019.

  1. Apple Master Suspended

    Apple Master

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Or do I need to sell my 5,1 and move over to PC?
     
  2. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #2
    #471

    Last time they said support for Mac Pro 5,1 will come later. This time they dont
    Well, regardless of whether or not they do, it's extremely easy to get running on one. It requires no patches outside of disabling the compatibility check on boot, and it runs perfectly fine.
     
  3. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #3
    I am running it on a 5,1 with upgraded WiFI/BLE card and the OS installed on the disk via another system.

    You have to disable the system check - sudo nvram boot-args="-no_compat_check"

    Works ok for an early beta. The App Store has issues authorizing some apps that work fine on a MacBook Pro.
     
  4. i.am.not.a.hipster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    #4
    macOS Catalina runs great and very smooth on MacPro5,1. No need to patch or upgrade.

    You just need to do these 3 simple steps for the MacPro5,1 to run macOS Catalina:

    (1) install macOS Catalina on a drive on a supported Mac

    (2) boot your MacPro5,1 to recovery, and then in terminal, type

    sudo nvram boot-args="-no_compat_check"

    (3) transfer the drive with macOS Catalina installed to the MacPro5,1 and and boot. The MacPro5,1 will now boot up macOS Catalina.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Apple Master thread starter Suspended

    Apple Master

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    So when the GM comes out there will most likely be a patch made though right?
     

Share This Page

4 June 7, 2019