Will it run? Yes. Yes it will.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by jagger27, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. jagger27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    To all of you asking if software a, b, or c will run on your shiny new MacBook Airs: yes, It will. Buy more RAM and chances are it will run better.
     
  2. bouncer1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    #2
    that's the spirit.

    These ssds that pretty much double and triple the speeds of available ssds in macbook pros and imacs are all the rage.

    And 4gbs of ram is plenty for most so far. (granted it's not future proof so much and for some minority it might not be enough, but we can't have it all now can we)
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    They are exactly the same. SSDs used in MBPs and iMacs are Toshiba HG2s and the controller used in them is T6UG1XBG, the same what can be found in MBA. MBAs may have newer firmware resulting better performance but the difference between them is not dramatical.
     
  4. kingsal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #4
    Agreed. I think "future-proofing" technology is a losing battle anyway and quite expensive. If you want to "future proof," just buy the middle-of-the-line computer now, save the $$$ on upgrades (with RAM being the exception), and buy a new one when you feel the need.
     
  5. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #5
    There's nothing you can throw at a MBA that won't run. It's whether or not it will run well. For example, I wouldn't want to try raiding in WoW, on a low end 11" Air. That doesn't mean I can't, but that it's not recommended. Similarly, app developers would be better off getting a MBP, as it has a much faster CPU. Obviously xcode will run, but will it run well?

    Just because you can run Word without trouble doesn't mean the MBA can do everything well.
     
  6. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #6
    I'm sure Word (2011) would run well.
     
  7. bella92108 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #7
    But the question a certain someone hasn't addressed yet is:

    WILL IT BLEND!?!?!?

    My bet is on yes.... ;-)
     
  8. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #8
    XCode ran perfectly fine on my Rev A MBA, so I imagine it would be great on one of the new ones. It is actually not a very CPU intensive app, since its main function is just compiling code.

    I know Wil Shipley, developer of Delicious Library, codes on a MBA.
     
  9. Parrotlet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #9
    Will Textedit run smoothly on the new air ????? :p
     
  10. TheAngryKiwi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #10
    In one of the other threads someone mentioned that Word 2008 launched on a store 11.6' in 3 seconds or so.

    THAT, to me, demonstrates how zippy they are. Word 2008, like the rest of Office 2008, is an appalling pig and has taken upwards of 10 seconds on any Mac I've seen.
     
  11. MrBellamy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #11
    Yah I dread when ever I have to open Word. Haha having both Word 08, and Pages the text editor i use most is TextEdit cause its instantly up
     

Share This Page