Will it work?2 K5000 in a MP mid 2012/12core

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by didgi, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. didgi, Jan 21, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2014

    didgi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    i'm just curious if 2 K5000 will fit into a single MP mid 2012/12core?Is this set up possible?
    According to apples official site,it is.i'm a bit suspicious though.

    'Low-power design that enables up to two cards in one system for CUDA-based application performance scaling or connecting eight displays'

    i'm aware that this is not a cheap option.I'd get 2 Gtx Titan with external PSU for much less money.

    cheers
     
  2. ozbimmer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #2
    It's possible. K5000 needs only one 6-pin power supply and the card is supported natively in OS X. What do u intend to use them for?
     
  3. didgi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    #3
    hi,

    that was quick :).
    I'd mainly use it with AE CS6 and C4D for Turbulence FD (GPU based Simulation).

    have you tried it out with 2 K5000?I'm also a bit worried if they really fit physically into the MP.If they fit,i guess there won't be any free pcle slots after the install,right?
     
  4. didgi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    #4
    thank you for your reply i'll see...
     

Share This Page