Will jailbreaking my iphone 4 remove the unlock from voadafone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by AriGold, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. AriGold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #1
    My iphone 4 is running 5.0.1 and it was unlocked by vodafone.

    Will jailbreaking it affect the unlock? Also whis is the easiest way to jailbreak it? Im pretty new to it and want it to be as easy as possible.
     
  2. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    No, Jailbreaking will not affect your factory unlock.

    use Redsn0w

    You can check iClarified for step by Step guides
     
  3. AriGold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #3
    The phone was from vodafone on release date but had it unlocked last year as I was away in the US. Does this unlock apply when referring to it as a factory unlock? Thanks for the help.
     
  4. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Factory Unlocks is when the Carrier do the unlocking (also call Official unlock), this is a permanent unlock that as soon as you connect the phone to ITunes it will know you are unlock and then unlock the baseband, you got nothing to worry about it as far as unlocking goes.
     
  5. AriGold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Yes, yours is carrier unlocked.
    It will never lock back to voda or any carrier.
    You can JB as much as you want.
     
  7. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #7

    Care to share your views on your newly jb iPhone 4.
     
  8. AriGold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #8
    All good so far. Not downloaded much yet. I have seen a few themes I like after googling but cant find names!

    Make it Mine
    Lockinfo
    Siri Port (not working yet)

    so far.
     
  9. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #9

    Download spire tyro cydia for siri use.

    Then you'll have to pay for a siri proxy but don't go for one of the 'free' ones.

    Im looking at imzdl.

    £13 or $20 a year.
     
  10. AriGold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
  11. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #11
  12. AriGold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #12
    I only tried it because it was free. Its not something I will use enough to spend $20 on.
     

Share This Page