Will Japanese iPhone work in Canada?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by reno42, Jul 4, 2015.

  1. reno42 macrumors newbie

    reno42

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Hi all. I'm having a hard time confirming this. Assuming it's unlocked (and setting aside the question of if that's even possible), would a Japanese iPhone work in Canada? Thanks.
     
  2. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #2
    As you've said, if it's unlocked, I don't see why it wouldn't work. I tried doing some searching for you regarding to supported LTE bands on the iPhone and the bands used in Canada, but I didn't come up with much information.
     
  3. reno42 thread starter macrumors newbie

    reno42

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
    Thanks! Unfortunately, once you mentioned LTE bands, I decided to look into that (I'm a newb when it comes to smart phones) and found my phone model's LTE is only compatible in Japan and USA :( (https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/, my model is A1453.) How much of a problem would not having LTE be if I try to use the phone in Canada? I wouldn't be doing anything heavy duty with it - mostly messaging or checking Facebook.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    You can use 3G hspa+ instead. The data speeds will be fine. Not as fast as LTE but you'll be ok.
     
  5. david91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    #5
    no reason why it shouldnt work in Canada. I connect via vpn to their servers everytime from Japan, and have never had a problem with it. Unless your phone is locked to a network in Japan. I would strongly advise you unlock it before travelling to Canada
     

Share This Page