Will Macbook Pro RAM work in a 2012 mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by spyrelx, Nov 29, 2014.

  1. spyrelx, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014

    spyrelx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    #1
    I've got a 2012 MBP with 8 gigs and thinking of upgrading to 16. I've got a mini with 4 gigs and thought I'd upgrade to 8. Will the MBP RAM work in the mini?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  3. scottsjack, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014

    scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Mac Pro RAM looks nothing like Mac mini RAM. One is desktop RAM, the other is laptop RAM.

    OMG; I read that as Mac Pro RAM, should have had that morning cup of coffee. My 2012 MBP, mini 2.3 and mini 2.6 all use the same model of Crucial RAM.
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    Macbook Pro RAM of the same clock speed as the RAM in the mini will work (if they're both 2012 there shouldn't be any problem). Mac Pro RAM (what scottsjack thought you referred to as "MacPro" in the title) will not.
     
  5. PhoenixMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #5

    The thread title says Mac Pro
     
  6. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6

    Mac Pro ≠ MacBook Pro

    MacBook Pro ≠ Mac Pro
     
  7. spyrelx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    #7
    Sorry about the thread title.

    I have a Macbook Pro. According the "about this mac" info, it is:

    13-inch, Mid 2012 model
    2.9 ghz intel core i7
    8 GB 1600 Mhz DDR3

    I also have a Mac Mini. According to its "about this mac" info, it is:

    late 2012
    2.5 ghz intel core 15
    4GB 1600 Mhz DDR3

    I've never touched the RAM in either, so they are both factory fresh (actually the Mini is an Apple refurb).

    So, can I take the RAM out of my Macbook Pro and put it in my Mini?

    The answers above seem to indicate yes but since there was some confusion about the title (my fault) just want to double check (as you may be able to tell, I'm not particularly literate in this stuff).

    Thanks and, again, sorry for any confusion.
     
  8. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #8
    Yes it should work just fine
     
  9. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    You're right, thought I was going loco there. I feel better now, thanks.
     
  10. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #10
    You can change the title of a thread..... Would be nice for future reuse...
     
  11. spyrelx, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014

    spyrelx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014

Share This Page