Will MBA 2013 be good for me

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Flowiee, Sep 11, 2013.

1. Flowiee, Sep 11, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013

Flowiee macrumors member

Hello,

Looking to upgrade from my windows laptop for a macbook. The new Macbook Air looks very nice for me, but my question is ; does it holds for my daily use.

Im a Mechanical Engineering student, so I need:
    - Autodesk Inventor (3d drawing program)
    - word, excel, powerpoint etc.
    - daily surfing on internet, multiple tabs.
    - Maschine software (DJ/music softwareprogram)
    - playing a few games, like Guildwars 2. (at normal quality/ good fps)

Because it's mostly to take with me I prefer the Air above the Pro. But should I take the i7 or will i5 will be fine?

Hope that someone can help me :)

Kind regards,

Frido Tims

2. Flowiee thread starter macrumors member

3. CKA macrumors member

Just my 2 cents, if you need for those of software like 'Autodesk Inventor', I believed i7 is much better. However, the drawback is shorter battery life. Moreover, you may want to upgrade memory as well.. 4G may be okay for today but for tomorrow, it probably won't.

4. Flowiee thread starter macrumors member

Hi,

Yeah, forgot the mention that I will upgrade it to 8gb ram definitely.

I really like the battery life of the i5, but I really dont know if I need the i7 for 3d-drawing in Autodesk Inventor.
    Hope someone can help me!

5. neteru macrumors newbie

I really believe the pro is a better computer for you and will be the same price as a maxed out air. If you want to game the video card (even casual) you want to go with the pro. If you can wait, you should see what apple will release in October.