Will more RAM make Parallels Desktop 6 (running XP) run faster?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MasterHowl, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #1
    Hi there,

    I bought Parallels 6 some time ago to use on my MacBook Pro to run XP, but have never used it because it's so slow! Both OS's become very laggy, and it's annoying to use.

    Here are the specs:
    2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4GB RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT

    If I upgrade my RAM to 8GB, will it run better?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Yes, it will run much better with more RAM. It will allow you to manage the RAM usage between OS X and XP to optimum levels.
     
  3. MasterHowl thread starter macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #3
    Thought so... just wanted to check on here first so I'm not wasting my money!

    I mean, if it's too much money, I could always use Bootcamp, but not having to restart to get into XP is very appealing!
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Get your extra RAM from OWC. Great prices and quality products.
     
  5. .md macrumors member

    .md

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE.
    #5
    It will depend, what version of XP are you running?
     
  6. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
  7. Phil Lee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    The jump from 4GB to 8GB made a difference in performance. I also found my upgrade to an SSD made a big difference to startup times and general performance (which is to be expected).
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    That really doesn't matter. Likely the OP will get the 32-bit version and it will address up to 3.25GB of RAM.

    The extra RAM on the host machine (Mac) is where the most gain in performance will be. It's the host that has to run two OS's. XP in this case only has to worry about itself.
     
  9. MasterHowl thread starter macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #9
    Thanks :) I took it into my local Apple Retail Store and they fitted it for me (I'm too scared to do it myself...)

    I'm very happy! Runs very smoothly :D
     
  10. Bunker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #10
    You will be much happier if you install 2nd HDD and move the virtual machine to 2nd HDD... :D
     
  11. ragnar77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    #11
    2nd HD?

    How does one install this into a new MBP?
     

Share This Page