Will more RAM make Yosemite run better?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thekayman, Feb 12, 2015.

1. thekayman macrumors 6502

I have a 2009 MBP and a 2013 MBA. Both have SSD's and 4GB of RAM. The CPU is obviously different: a C2D in my MBP vs. i5 on the MBA.

Yosemite runs buttery smooth on the MBA but is slow, laggy and choppy on the MBP. Will upgrading the RAM to 8GB make it better though? I don't want to spend the money and find out it's still junk.

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

It depends on what you use it for

Meisters brilliant RAM thread should give you some idea about RAM and how it works in OSX and how to gauge how much you need.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1756865&highlight=meister

3. thekayman thread starter macrumors 6502

Usage is similar across the two machines. Memory pressure seems to stay in the green on the MBP.

I never had problems with Mavericks and Yosemite is a clean install but it's a so much worse experience. May have to go back.

4. rosario1990 macrumors regular

I don't think you need to upgrade 4GB RAM is enough but you need to check your device properly.

5. simonsi macrumors 601

simonsi

I would think disabling transparency on the MBP would make more difference TBH...

6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

The GPU on the 2009 MBP is pretty weak, and so is the processor.

7. thekayman thread starter macrumors 6502

Disabling transparency and using the dedicated GPU improves things a bit... thanks for the suggestions.

So, when are the new MBP's coming out? :))

8. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch

9. tfu07 macrumors newbie

I upgraded from 4GB to 16GB of RAM. On 4GB Yosemite was barely usable. Extremely slow and choppy. On 16GB? I haven't had one single problem whatsoever. Yosemite absolutely flies on 16GB! So I say YES! Upgrade your RAM. You won't be sorry. FYI, I also upgraded to a SSD which also helps but I think the main improvement is the RAM upgrade.

10. maflynn Moderator

maflynn