Will my 11in 2011 Macbook Air be able to use the Elgato Game Capture HD?

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by taticassel, Jul 16, 2014.

  1. taticassel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    I was just about to order an Elgato Game Capture HD device but noticed that one of my specs of slightly shy of the requirements. Does anyone know if my Macbook Air would be able to use the device?

    My specs:
    Version: 10.7.5
    Processor: 1.6 GHz Intel Core i5
    Memory: 4GB 1333 MHx DDR3

    Elgato specs:
    Mac: OS X 10.7 or later, 2.0 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo CPU
     
  2. musicpenguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #2
    I have that same exact laptop on Mavericks and it runs it with zero issues - a neat trick is it lets non-HDMI consoles run on HD TVs
     
  3. oeollie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #3
    Does that also mean that a 2014 Mac mini @ 1.4 GHz with turbo boost to 2.5GHz will work?
     
  4. Bigwass42, Jan 31, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016

    Bigwass42 macrumors newbie

    Bigwass42

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Emmaus, PA
    #4
    Hey, so I know this is an old post, but is this confirmed to work? I made an account just to ask this question. Thanks in advance!!

    4/15/2016 update, i bought an elgato hd60 and my 2015 macbook air i5 1.6ghz runs it fine.

    i'm able to use it at 1080p 60fps fine. i probably won't though because i like macbook air...
    either way i searched for weeks trying to find out if it would work before i bought one so i just want everyone to know that it works.
     
  5. Aymax macrumors newbie

    Aymax

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    #5
    @Bigwass42 Does it really work fine? Im nervous of buying it. Ive been hearing that it only works on 720p or lower... I have a MacBook Air 2015 13''. Are there any cons for using elgato on macbook air?
     
  6. Bigwass42 macrumors newbie

    Bigwass42

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Location:
    Emmaus, PA
    #6
    I honestly have had no problem at all, Recording at 1080p60. I make sure all other programs are closed, And just have the elgato software open. Also I've been recording directly to an external hard drive because it was filling up my 128gb ssd really fast. Also I've only been recording from my xbox, and have not been streaming or anything like that.
    --- Post Merged, May 16, 2016 ---

    Here I made this video on YouTube if you want to check it out.
     

Share This Page