Will my Car explode?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by 7on, Mar 9, 2010.

1. 7on macrumors 601

7on

Should I be safe driving this home or should I look into alternative methods of transport?

It drove fine going 3 miles to work from the accident scene but I'm worried that 20miles @ 65mph might not bode me well.

Attached Files:

2. ss957916 macrumors 6502a

I would recommend asking a local garage and not an online Apple community. This is yours and, more importantly, other people's safety we're talking about here.

3. waloshin macrumors 68040

waloshin

The car is not legal as there is no passenger headlight or signal light. Sorry.

And it would not explode.

4. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

Yes

Your car WILL explode.

kidding, but that sucks! I had a saturn just like that, but Green, that got totaled. Yours looks fine to drive, but hey, I'm no mechanic.

If you are to drive it, make sure that you rip off any loose pieces that could fall off and be a hazard to other drivers. And be aware that you can get pulled over for your turn signal and light looking like that (probably not functional).

5. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

7on

The light definitely doesn't work. But I still need to get it to a garage. And knowing that it won't explode will help me decide whether or not to call a tow service.

6. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

You risk something flying off the car and hitting someone at 65MPH. That is the concern, not your car exploding.

Take it to a shop ASAP. Your insurance company should in theory provide you with alternate transportation until this is fixed.

Edit: No need to tow it. But I do recommend taking local roads instead of the expressway.

7. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

Darth.Titan

This. The car may very well be drivable, but at 65MPH you're definitely going to cause more damage and risk pieces flying off and hitting other motorists.

8. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

7on