Will my late 2009 iMac run New Vegas?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mike.coulter, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. mike.coulter macrumors regular

    mike.coulter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #1
    It was the baseline iMac at the time and it's specs are as follows:

    21.5 inches, 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 500GB hard disk drive, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256MB.

    I'd be running it under Windows 7 64bit, also I've manage to play Borderlands, Burnout Paradise, COD4, TF2 and L4D2 on it pretty fine well. Just interested on you're opinions on how badly this could run/how passable it will be.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    You will probably be able to run it at low settings with no AA at native resolution.
     
  3. mike.coulter thread starter macrumors regular

    mike.coulter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #3
    So do you think it would be quite an un-enjoyable experience? I could get it on the PS3 if that's the case, just fancied it on the PC...
     
  4. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    That's tough to say with the fallout games.

    If it weren't fallout, I'd say ps3 easily. But fallout games were designed for pc. The dlc comes free with the pc version, the pc version always has less bugs and problems, the pc version can have user patches, the pc version can be modded easily.

    I wish I could help you more with exact benchmark numbers, but I guess for now it'd be best to wait and hopefully see if someone with your computer and new vegas can provide accurate numbers.
     
  5. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #5
    There have been a lot of performance issues on all platforms but they are being patched and if you get the PC version then the mod community will also improve things. I haven't seen anything too terrible on the PC yet, couple of crashes and the odd glitch in many hours of playtime which is something you expect from a version 1 Obsidian release. You'll need to keep the settings down a little to run it but Dont forget that this is a three year old engine so doesn't need the latest hardware.
     

Share This Page